Dual In Detroit logo
Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Race 1
The Raceway at Belle Isle Park - Detroit, MI
Detroit Belle Isle Park
Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Race 1
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
11:20 - 12:05 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 2
3:20 - 4:05 PM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 1 Group 1
8:35 - 8:45 AM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 1 Group 2
8:55 - 9:05 AM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 2
9:15 - 9:25 AM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 3
9:35 - 9:45 AM ET
View Session Results
3:30 - 5:45 PM ET
View Session Results


Will Power
Team Penske
Graham Rahal
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Tony Kanaan
Target Chip Ganassi Racing

Race Recap

DETROIT -- In the shadow of the three-cylinder Renaissance Center -- the headquarters of General Motors -- Will Power gave the Verizon IndyCar Series manufacturer and team owner/area resident/race promoter Roger Penske a signature victory.

Power, who started 16th in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, overtook race leader Ryan Briscoe on a Lap 60 restart and then held off Graham Rahal over the 10-lap sprint to win by .3308 of a second in Race 1 of the Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit presented by Quicken Loans.

"(Rahal) was really pushing me at the end and it was a great victory for Roger, the (crew) guys and Verizon," said Power, whose 23rd Indy car victory tied Tommy Milton for 18th all time.

Rahal, driving the No. 15 National Guard car for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, started a season-best ninth and recorded his best finish since placing second at Long Beach in April 2013.

"We’ve been fighting awfully hard to just finish where we have been finishing and so to finally get a result like this it means more than words," said Rahal, who was the first to retire from the Indianapolis 500 six days earlier. "As we look forward to (Race 2 on June 1), I think we can do one better and we really learned a lot today and a lot that is going to help us."

Qualifications for Race 2 -- split into two groups of 12 minutes each of track time -- are at 10 a.m. (ET) June 1 and will set the starting lineup for the 70-lap race at 3:30 p.m. (ET) on ABC. Allen Bestwick is the chief announcer, with Scott Goodyear and Eddie Cheever Jr. the analysts.

The race will be broadcast on IMS Radio Network affiliates, XM 209 and Sirius 213, www.indycar.com and INDYCAR 14 app (both in conjunction with real-time Timing & Scoring). Paul Page is the chief announcer.

Both races on the 2.36-mile, 13-turn street circuit carry full points. Power moved to three points of front-runner Ryan Hunter-Reay in the championship standings. Castroneves is 31 points behind Power, his Team Penske teammate.

Tony Kanaan in third place -- his 66th career podium and best street/road course finish since Baltimore in 2011 -- posted his best finish of the season, as did Justin Wilson in fourth (climbing from the 19th starting position). Verizon P1 Award winner Helio Castroneves, who led a field-high 30 laps, finished fifth.

James Hinchcliffe, who started on the outside of Row 1, finished sixth and Andretti Autosport teammate Carlos Munoz followed up his fourth place in the Indianapolis 500 with seventh place. Rookie Carlos Huertas earned his best finish of the season in eighth despite being penalized for a pit safety violation, while Charlie Kimball and Marco Andretti closed out the top 10.

Rahal, whose lone Verizon IndyCar Series win came in his series debut on April 4, 2008, at St. Petersburg, Fla., when he was 19 years old, was never more than a second behind Power in the closing laps but couldn’t muster an overtaking opportunity on the narrow course.

“I was just trying to give him a run for his money,” Rahal said. “I thought if I can just force him into a little mistake, this is mine. Didn’t quite get there but I’m very proud of this team.”

Honda had spoiled Chevrolet’s party on Belle Isle since the bowtie became the entitlement sponsor of the event in 2012. It recently signed a three-year extension.


About the track

Detroit - Belle Isle Park

The 2.35-mile, 13-turn temporary street circuit on Detroit's Belle Isle presents numerous challenges to drivers -- from hard braking zones to speedy straights. The same areas are ripe for overtaking. Belle Isle has held doubleheader IndyCar race weekends dating back to 2013.

Social Media

Twitter: @DetroitGP

Facebook: @detroitgp

Instagram: @detroitgp

Official Hashtag: #DetroitGP

Past track winners

Scott Dixon (R2) 2019
Josef Newgarden (R1) 2019
Ryan Hunter-Reay (R2) 2018
Scott Dixon (R1) 2018
Graham Rahal (R2) 2017
Graham Rahal (R1) 2017
Will Power (R2) 2016
Sebastien Bourdais (R1) 2016
Sebastien Bourdais (R2) 2015
Carlos Munoz (R1) 2015
Helio Castroneves (R2) 2014
Will Power (R1) 2014
Simon Pagenaud (R2) 2013
Mike Conway (R1) 2013
Scott Dixon 2012
Justin Wilson 2008
Tony Kanaan 2007
Helio Castroneves 2001
Helio Castroneves 2000
Dario Franchitti 1999
Alex Zanardi 1998
Greg Moore 1997
Michael Andretti 1996
Robby Gordon 1995
Paul Tracy 1994
Danny Sullivan 1993
Bobby Rahal 1992