Long Beach 2013 Logo
Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
Streets of Long Beach - Long Beach, CA
Streets of Long Beach
Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
1:30 - 2:15 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 2
5:30 - 6:15 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 3
1:40 - 2:25 PM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 1 Group 1
5:00 - 5:10 PM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 1 Group 2
5:15 - 5:25 PM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 2
5:35 - 5:45 PM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Round 3
5:55 - 6:05 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice Final
12:00 - 12:30 PM ET
View Session Results
4:30 - 7:45 PM ET
View Session Results


Takuma Sato
A.J. Foyt Enterprises
Graham Rahal
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Justin Wilson
Dale Coyne Racing

Race Recap

LONG BEACH, Calif. -- Amid the Victory Circle celebration for Takuma Sato, conspicuously absent and certainly missed was the team's inspirational leader, A.J. Foyt.

Foyt was watching from his Texas home as he faces midweek surgery, so the all-time Indy car victory leader couldn't congratulate the first Japanese winner of an Indy car race in person.

"I wish he was here. We hate it because he is definitely our big leader and he is the big boss man. This is for him," said team director and race strategist Larry Foyt, A.J.'s son.

"Takuma made it look too easy. He just drove a flawless race. I've never seen a race like that. Just a perfect race. It just all came together. We have been saying that. We've had flashes of being really quick and we just had to bring it all together. The ABC car just looked awesome up front all day."

Sato, making his 52nd IZOD IndyCar Series start, overtook Ryan Hunter-Reay for second on Lap 23 and assumed the point on Lap 30 when race leader Will Power pitted under yellow. The remainder of the race Sato's No. 14 ABC Supply car was strong on both the Firestone primary and alternate tires.

"It was just a perfect weekend to be honest," said Sato, whose previous best finish was second at Edmonton in 2012. "The team did a tremendous job. Pit stops, right calls, the power was great and I was comfortable in the car and able to push everything.

“It is great news for the Japanese. Japan has had such a tough time after the earthquake. I’m really happy to give everybody some good news to wake up to because it’s very early Japanese time."

Sato led Graham Rahal across the finish line under caution as the No. 11 car driven by Tony Kanaan slid into the tire barrier in Turn 1 on Lap 78 of 80. It was the best finish for Rahal since finishing second at Texas last June. Justin Wilson, who won that race at Texas Motor Speedway, advanced from the 24th starting position to finish third.

"I think we just performed the way we ought to each and every weekend," said Rahal, whose father and team co-owner, Bobby Rahal, was a Long Beach race runner-up four times. "We came out here and the Midas/Big O Tires car was right there all week. To be honest, it just feels phenomenal to get this result."

Pole sitter Dario Franchitti finished fourth and JR Hildebrand finished fifth at Long Beach for the second consecutive year.

"I’m really proud of the run we had and the pit crew guys did such an awesome job, because we made up three or four of those spots in the pits on our last stop," said Hildebrand, who finished 19th and 17th in the first two races in the No. 4 National Guard Panther Racing car.

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

About the track

Streets of Long Beach

The 1.968-mile, 12-turn temporary street circuit encircles the Long Beach Convention Center -- which houses a Family Fun Zone and numerous displays during the race weekend -- and runs down scenic Shoreline Drive. It offers numerous overtaking opportunities, including Turn 1, getting the hairpin turn just before the frontstretch right is critical.

Social Media

Twitter: @GPLongBeach

Facebook: @GrandPrixLB

Official Hashtag: #AGPLB

Past track winners

Alexander Rossi 2019
Alexander Rossi 2018
James Hinchcliffe 2017
Simon Pagenaud 2016
Scott Dixon 2015
Mike Conway 2014
Takuma Sato 2013
Will Power 2012
Mike Conway 2011
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2010
Dario Franchitti 2009
Will Power 2008
Sebastien Bourdais 2007
Sebastien Bourdais 2006
Sebastien Bourdais 2005
Paul Tracy 2004
Paul Tracy 2003
Michael Andretti 2002
Helio Castroneves 2001
Paul Tracy 2000
Juan Pablo Montoya 1999
Alex Zanardi 1998
Alex Zanardi 1997
Jimmy Vasser 1996
Al Unser, Jr. 1995
Al Unser, Jr. 1994
Paul Tracy 1993
Danny Sullivan 1992
Al Unser, Jr. 1991
Al Unser, Jr. 1990
Al Unser, Jr. 1989
Al Unser, Jr. 1988
Mario Andretti 1987
Michael Andretti 1986
Mario Andretti 1985
Mario Andretti 1984