The Milwaukee Mile
Milwaukee IndyFest
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
11:00 - 12:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 2
2:00 - 3:00 PM ET
View Session Results
5:15 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
4:30 - 6:31 PM ET
View Session Results


Ryan Hunter-Reay
Andretti Autosport
Helio Castroneves
Team Penske
Will Power
Team Penske

Race Recap

WEST ALLIS, Wis. -- Can Ryan Hunter-Reay catch lightning in a bottle again?

The 32-year-old Fort Lauderdale, Fla., resident earned his second consecutive victory in the Milwaukee IndyFest, passing race leader Takuma Sato on Lap 198 of 250 and going on to win by 4.809 seconds over Helio Castroneves.

Will Power finished third for his first podium of the season in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car. E.J. Viso, with a season-best fourth place, and James Hinchcliffe -- Andretti Autosport teammates to Hunter-Reay -- also were in the top five.

"It’s just a huge win for us," said team owner Michael Andretti, whose Andretti Sports Marketing arm was the event promoter for the second year. "Last year, this win kicked-started Ryan’s year. Hopefully it’s going to do it again. So happy for everybody on this team and so proud of everybody. All the cars ran really competitive today and all weekend."

"The team did just awesome today," said Hunter-Reay, who started fourth in the No. 1 DHL car. "We had varying levels of grip through the whole race, different levels of balance, and we just stuck with it. The other guys (Castroneves and Takuma Sato) had such great cars. I thought we might have not had a good enough car to win it, and we just pushed through in the end. We had the balance we needed."

Third in the championship entering this Father's Day weekend race, Hunter-Reay was 27 points behind Castroneves. He heads into the Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DEKALB next week 16 points behind the three-time Indianapolis 500 winner, who started 17th in the No. 3 PPG Team Penske car.

"It was a great day for us," said Castroneves, who won the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway a week earlier and is the lone driver to complete every lap this season. "Starting from the back, it was tough. Yesterday I stayed late talking to Jonathan (Diuguid), my engineer, on what we were going to do with the car.

"It was tough, but today it definitely paid off. We were a little conservative and we had to be patient. In the end, it was a great job by the PPG boys. It’s not a win, but you know what, I’m very, very happy."

Scott Dixon recorded his third top 10 in four races in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car and Sato, who led a field-high 109 laps, was seventh in the No. 14 ABC Supply car for A.J. Foyt Racing. Justin Wilson notched his sixth top-10 finish in the nine races, while Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan rounded out the top 10.

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

About the track

The Milwaukee Mile

The one-mile oval drives more like a road course because of the 9-degree banking in the turns, which produces exciting racing. Drivers can't go flat out on the course, which creates overtaking opportunities in the turns as well as the straights. The Mile opened in 1903 and little has changed to the configuration.

Past track winners

Sebastien Bourdais 2015
Will Power 2014
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2013
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2012
Dario Franchitti 2011
Scott Dixon 2009
Ryan Briscoe 2008
Tony Kanaan 2007
Tony Kanaan (R2) 2006
Sebastien Bourdais (R1) 2006
Sam Hornish Jr. (R2) 2005
Paul Tracy (R1) 2005
Dario Franchitti (R2) 2004
Ryan Hunter-Reay (R1) 2004
Michel Jourdain Jr. 2003
Paul Tracy 2002
Kenny Brack 2001
Juan Pablo Montoya 2000
Paul Tracy 1999
Jimmy Vasser 1998
Greg Moore 1997
Michael Andretti 1996
Paul Tracy 1995
Al Unser Jr. 1994
Nigel Mansell 1993
Michael Andretti 1992
Michael Andretti 1991
Al Unser Jr. 1990
Rick Mears 1989
Rick Mears 1988
Michael Andretti 1987
Michael Andretti 1986
Mario Andretti 1985
Tom Sneva 1984
Tom Sneva 1983
Tom Sneva (R2) 1982
Gordon Johncock (R1) 1982
Tom Sneva (R2) 1981
Mike Mosley (R1) 1981
Johnny Rutherford (R2) 1980
Bobby Unser (R1) 1980
Roger McCluskey (R2) 1979
A.J. Foyt (R1) 1979
Danny Ongais (R2) 1978
Rick Mears (R1) 1978
Johnny Rutherford (R2) 1977
Johnny Rutherford (R1) 1977
Al Unser (R2) 1976
Mike Mosley (R1) 1976
Mike Mosley (R2) 1975
A.J. Foyt (R1) 1975
Gordon Johncock (R2) 1974
Johnny Rutherford (R1) 1974
Wally Dallenbach (R2) 1973
Bobby Unser (R1) 1973
Joe Leonard (R2) 1972
Bobby Unser (R1) 1972
Bobby Unser (R2) 1971
Al Unser (R1) 1971
Al Unser (R2) 1970
Joe Leonard (R1) 1970
Al Unser (R2) 1969
Greg Weld / Art Pollard (R1) 1969
Lloyd Ruby (R2) 1968
Lloyd Ruby (R1) 1968
Mario Andretti (R2) 1967
Gordon Johncock (R1) 1967
Mario Andretti (R2) 1966
Mario Andretti (R1) 1966
Gordon Johncock (R3) 1965
Joe Leonard (R2) 1965
Parnelli Jones (R1) 1965
Parnelli Jones (R2) 1964
A.J. Foyt (R1) 1964
Jim Clark (R2) 1963
Rodger Ward (R1) 1963
Rodger Ward (R2) 1962
A.J. Foyt (R1) 1962
Lloyd Ruby (R2) 1961
Rodger Ward (R1) 1961
Len Sutton (R2) 1960
Rodger Ward (R1) 1960
Rodger Ward (R2) 1959
Johnny Thomson (R1) 1959
Rodger Ward (R2) 1958
Art Bisch (R1) 1958
Jim Rathman (R2) 1957
Rodger Ward (R1) 1957
Jimmy Bryan (R2) 1956
Pat Flaherty (R1) 1956
Pat Flaherty (R2) 1955
Johnny Thomson (R1) 1955
Manny Ayulo (R2) 1954
Chuck Stevenson (R1) 1954
Chuck Stevenson (R2) 1953
Jack McGrath (R1) 1953
Chuck Stevenson (R2) 1952
Mike Nazuruk (R1) 1952
Walk Faulkner (R2) 1951
Tony Bettenhausen (R1) 1951
Walk Faulkner (R2) 1950
Tony Bettenhausen (R1) 1950
Johnnie Parsons (R2) 1949
Myron Fohr (R1)) 1949
Myron Fohr / Tony Bettenhausen (R3) 1948
Johnny Mantz (R2) 1948
Emil Andres (R1) 1948
Ted Horn (R3) 1947
Charles Van Acker (R2) 1947
Bill Holland (R1) 1947
Rex Mays 1946
Rex Mays 1941
Babe Stapp 1939