Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Indianapolis 500
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 2
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 3
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 4
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 5
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 6
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 7
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 8
8:00 - 10:00 AM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications - Pole Day
11:00 - 7:20 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 9
9:00 - 10:00 AM ET
View Session Results
Qualifications Bump
12:00 - 6:00 PM ET
View Session Results
Practice 10
11:00 - 12:00 PM ET
View Session Results
12:00 - 4:00 PM ET
View Session Results


Tony Kanaan
KV Racing Technology
Carlos Munoz
Andretti Autosport
Ryan Hunter-Reay
Andretti Autosport

Race Recap

It's the realization of a dream that began decades earlier and took him from Brazil to Europe to America. The sweat, sacrifice, physical labor and disappointment all cascaded to the floor of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Winner's Circle like the milk that ran down Tony Kanaan's firesuit during the effusive celebration.

Winning the 97th edition of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race is certainly more than a big payday. It's the marquee accomplishment in a race car driver's career, the confluence of speed, skill and good fortune over 200 laps on the persnickety 2.5-mile oval.

It is "... marvelous," according to Kanaan, who earned the victory under caution when three-time champion Dario Franchitti's No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car made contract with the Turn 1 SAFER Barrier on a Lap 197 restart. Kanaan and rookie Carlos Munoz had overtaken race leader Ryan Hunter-Reay entering Turn 1 on the restart for a Lap 194 on-track incident involving Graham Rahal.

In a race that featured an astonishing 68 race-record lead changes among a race-record 14 drivers, Kanaan cruised to the checkered flag in front of more than 300,000 of his new-found closest Twitter friends and a global TV/radio audience. Kanaan, who completed the straight flush with the victory (he's finished first through fifth), wiped tears from his eyes as he guided the Chevrolet-powered No. 11 Hydroxycut KV Racing Technology/SH Racing car to the waiting Borg-Warner Trophy.

"That last lap was the longest of my life," said Kanaan, who started 12th and led 34 laps. "I got a little bit of luck today and this is for the fans. I was looking at the stands (on the cool-down lap) and it was unbelievable.

“I am speechless. I made it, and now I get to put my ugly face on that trophy. We were known for not winning (the race) and now we are known for winning. Everything was so smooth. (Race strategist) Jimmy (Vasser) was calm. I was calm. But out of the 11 times I have been here it was exactly the same, so when it was six laps to go and it went yellow I wasn't in the lead I said, 'This might be the day. Today might be the day.'

"I was in Ryan (Hunter-Reay's) position many times and then I knew I had to get the lead on the restart because it could be a yellow, which had happened to me plenty of times here. And it did. How life is funny, the yellow was my best friend."

Kanaan, 38, the 2004 IZOD IndyCar Series champion who was making his 201st consecutive Indy car start, said last week that the Speedway didn't "owe me anything." Some would argue that contention for the self-deprecating Indy car international ambassador. The historic facility at least owed the Kanaan, driving with torn tendons in his right hand, for his determination.

His will be the 100th face added to the Borg-Warner Trophy.

Three Andretti Autosport drivers -- Munoz, Hunter-Reay and Marco Andretti -- finished second through fourth. Justin Wilson advanced nine positions to finish fifth in the No. 18 Dale Coyne Racing car. Three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves was sixth and Team Penske teammate and first-time Indy 500 competitor AJ Allmendinger placed seventh..

"That's just the way it works out," said Hunter-Reay, the reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion, of the restart following the third caution of the race. "I knew I was a sitting duck and I wasn't too bummed about it because I knew we had enough laps to get it going again and have a pass back and maybe I would be third on the last lap, which is where I wanted to be and it didn't work out that way..

"Big congratulations to Tony Kanaan, though. He has been there so many times, had bad luck and for whatever reason the race has alluded him. Great champion, certainly deserves it. But man am I disappointed."

So was Franchitti, who entered the race seeking his record-tying fourth victory but wasn't in contention.

"Sums up our day," the four-time series champion said of the crash. "Our car was never really good all day. In traffic we couldn’t make anything happen. I went into the first corner on the last restart and it just didn’t turn and then the hit. When I saw who was leading, it cheered me up a little bit.

"Just phenomenal that Tony won. We were never in contention but I’m just so happy he won. He’s a very, very deserving winner."

Andretti, who started third in the No. 25 RC Cola car and led 31 laps, wrested the points lead from Takuma Sato after five of 19 races. Andretti leads Sato, 168-157, heading into the inaugural Chevrolet Dual in Detroit presented by Quicken Loans on the Belle Isle circuit June 1-2. 

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast


About the track

Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Oval)

With four corners banked at 9 degrees, 12 minutes, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway drives more like a road course than an oval. But each of the corners is different, with weather influencing the car's characteristics. The straightaways are 5/8ths of a mile long -- time to catch your breath and dive into the next corner.

Social Media

Twitter: @IMS

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Instagram: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Official Hashtag: #Indy500

Past track winners

Takuma Sato 2020
Simon Pagenaud 2019
Will Power 2018
Takuma Sato 2017
Alexander Rossi 2016
Juan Pablo Montoya 2015
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2014
Tony Kanaan 2013
Dario Franchitti 2012
Dan Wheldon 2011
Dario Franchitti 2010
Helio Castroneves 2009
Scott Dixon 2008
Dario Franchitti 2007
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2006
Dan Wheldon 2005
Buddy Rice 2004
Gil de Ferran 2003
Helio Castroneves 2002
Helio Castroneves 2001
Juan Pablo Montoya 2000
Kenny Brack 1999
Eddie Cheever, Jr. 1998
Arie Luyendyk 1997
Buddy Lazier 1996
Jacques Villeneuve 1995
Al Unser, Jr. 1994
Emerson Fittipaldi 1993
Al Unser, Jr. 1992
Rick Mears 1991
Arie Luyendyk 1990
Emerson Fittipaldi 1989
Rick Mears 1988
Al Unser 1987
Bobby Rahal 1986
Danny Sullivan 1985
Rick Mears 1984
Tom Sneva 1983
Gordon Johncock 1982
Bobby Unser 1981
Johnny Rutherford 1980
Rick Mears 1979
Al Unser 1978
A.J. Foyt 1977
Johnny Rutherford 1976
Bobby Unser 1975
Johnny Rutherford 1974
Gordon Johncock 1973
Mark Donohue 1972
Al Unser 1971
Al Unser 1970
Mario Andretti 1969
Bobby Unser 1968
A.J. Foyt 1967
Graham Hill 1966
Jim Clark 1965
A.J. Foyt 1964
Parnelli Jones 1963
Rodger Ward 1962
A.J. Foyt 1961
Jim Rathmann 1960
Rodger Ward 1959
Jimmy Bryan 1958
Sam Hanks 1957
Pat Flaherty 1956
Bob Sweikert 1955
Bill Vukovich 1954
Bill Vukovich 1953
Troy Ruttman 1952
Lee Wallard 1951
Johnnie Parsons 1950
Bill Holland 1949
Mauri Rose 1948
Mauri Rose 1947
George Robson 1946
Floyd Davis & Mauri Rose 1941
Wilbur Shaw 1940
Wilbur Shaw 1939
Floyd Roberts 1938
Wilbur Shaw 1937
Louis Meyer 1936
Kelly Petillo 1935
Bill Cummings 1934
Louis Meyer 1933
Fred Frame 1932
Louis Schneider 1931
Billy Arnold 1930
Ray Keech 1929
Louis Meyer 1928
George Souders 1927
Frank Lockhart 1926
Peter DePaolo 1925
Lora Corum & Joe Boyer 1924
Tommy Milton 1923
Jimmy Murphy 1922
Tommy Milton 1921
Gaston Chevrolet 1920
Howdy Wilcox 1919
NO RACE - WWI 1918
NO RACE - WWI 1917
Dario Resta 1916
Ralph DePalma 1915
Rene Thomas 1914
Jules Goux 1913
Joe Dawson 1912
Ray Harroun 1911