Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
Streets of Long Beach - Long Beach, CA
Streets of Long Beach
Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
Race Complete


Will Power
Team Penske
Simon Pagenaud
Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports
James Hinchcliffe
Andretti Autosport

Race Recap

Will Power, who started the 38th Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach in Row 6 because of a penalty assessed ton all 11 Chevrolet-powered cars for unapproved engine changes, overcame the deficit by stretching 18.5 gallons of E85 the last 31 laps on the 1.968-mile, 11-turn street circuit. All the while being chased down by Simon Pagenaud.

"We really didn’t think it was possible to win from 12th place because it was a two-stop race, but never say never," said Power, who two weeks earlier charged from qualifying ninth to win on the 2.38-mile Barber Motorsports Park road course. "Once again, good strategy with (strategist) Tim (Cindric), Dave (Faustino), my engineer, and all the boys we overcame a 10-spot penalty.

"It was just amazing that Simon did three stops and I did two stops, like two different strategies. Obviously he could run hard the whole time and not save fuel, and I saved fuel and did the best lap time I could. And the result was very similar.  There was hardly any time between us as we crossed the finish line. 

"It's just always a surprise in IndyCar, I think.  You can never predict. You can never assume going into a race. You just have to be smart as it plays out." 

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

About the track

Streets of Long Beach

The 1.968-mile, 12-turn temporary street circuit encircles the Long Beach Convention Center -- which houses a Family Fun Zone and numerous displays during the race weekend -- and runs down scenic Shoreline Drive. It offers numerous overtaking opportunities, including Turn 1, getting the hairpin turn just before the frontstretch right is critical.

Social Media

Twitter: @GPLongBeach

Facebook: @GrandPrixLB

Official Hashtag: #AGPLB

Past track winners

Alexander Rossi 2019
Alexander Rossi 2018
James Hinchcliffe 2017
Simon Pagenaud 2016
Scott Dixon 2015
Mike Conway 2014
Takuma Sato 2013
Will Power 2012
Mike Conway 2011
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2010
Dario Franchitti 2009
Will Power 2008
Sebastien Bourdais 2007
Sebastien Bourdais 2006
Sebastien Bourdais 2005
Paul Tracy 2004
Paul Tracy 2003
Michael Andretti 2002
Helio Castroneves 2001
Paul Tracy 2000
Juan Pablo Montoya 1999
Alex Zanardi 1998
Alex Zanardi 1997
Jimmy Vasser 1996
Al Unser, Jr. 1995
Al Unser, Jr. 1994
Paul Tracy 1993
Danny Sullivan 1992
Al Unser, Jr. 1991
Al Unser, Jr. 1990
Al Unser, Jr. 1989
Al Unser, Jr. 1988
Mario Andretti 1987
Michael Andretti 1986
Mario Andretti 1985
Mario Andretti 1984