Streets of Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Indy 300
Race Complete


Will Power
Team Penske
Ryan Hunter-Reay
Andretti Autosport
Takuma Sato
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Race Recap

Will Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, held off Ryan Hunter-Reay on a Lap 71 restart and won by 0.9045 of a second. Takuma Sato, who started 25th because of an unapproved Honda engine change and overcame a Lap 12 pit lane speed violation penalty, earned his first IZOD IndyCar Series podium finish.

Power is the first driver since Scott Dixon in 2007 to win three consecutive races (Watkins Glen, Nashville, Mid-Ohio). With Helio Castroneves winning at St. Petersburg, it's the first time in his 44-year motorsports career that team owner Roger Penske has won the first four races of a season.

There were five full-course cautions, including incidents on Lap 29 and Lap 67 restarts that bottled up six cars and eight cars, respectively, in the slow speed Turns 1-2 complex to mix up the running order (i.e. On Lap 34, all four Brazilian drivers were in the top 10. Only Rubens Barrichello remained there in the box score).

"(The final restart) was the key to winning," said Power, the series leader by 45 points heading into the Indianapolis 500. "Ryan got a really good jump. I knew I just had to go like you wouldn't believe through the first complex of corners because I knew he could get a run on me. Ryan is one of the hardest guys you will ever race; he never gives up.”

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

About the track

Streets Of Sao Paulo

The 2.536-mile, 11-turn temporary street circuit incorporates the Sambadromo as the frontstretch. The surface is a challenge as it's the only section of the circuit that is concrete.

There is a long stretch that heads into the final right-hand corner, requiring hard braking and offering plentiful overtaking opportunities.

Past track winners

James Hinchcliffe 2013
Will Power 2012
Will Power 2011
Will Power 2010