The Milwaukee Mile
Milwaukee IndyFest
Race Complete


Ryan Hunter-Reay
Andretti Autosport
Tony Kanaan
KV Racing Technology
James Hinchcliffe
Andretti Autosport

Race Recap

"What a race. The script is perfect," said Hunter-Reay, who won at the Milwaukee Mile in 2004 in CART and recorded his sixth Indy car win. "Michael (Andretti) loves the sport and does a lot for it. Milwaukee and INDYCAR go hand-in-hand. This is the oldest racing facility in the country and we just won. It’s awesome."

Hunter-Reay, who started second, led Tony Kanaan across the start-finish line by 5.1029 seconds.

"It was one of the most physical races I've ever driven," added Hunter-Reay, who overtook Helio Castroneves for the lead (for good as it turned out) in Turn 3 on Lap 142. "You're always on edge, always busy in the car."

Kanaan moved up from the sixth starting position in the No. 11 GEICO/Mouser Elctronics/KV Racing Technology car, earned his second podium finish of the season. He has finished no worse than fourth in six of last eight starts at the Mile.

"I didn’t have anything at the end for Ryan, but great event," Kanaan said. "I love to see the stands as full as I’ve ever seen here. Thanks to Michael and his people who put this event back together. I love this place. It was a long day, but this is typical Milwaukee. That’s why I love this place. You’ve got to drive it. If you don’t drive it, you never get it, so I’m extremely happy."

James Hinchcliffe was third and Oriol Servia jumped from the 20th starting position to finish fourth. E.J. Viso, who led his first laps since June 2011 at Texas, finished fifth (his first top five since Iowa in 2010).

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the Milwaukee IndyFest

About the track

The Milwaukee Mile

The one-mile oval drives more like a road course because of the 9-degree banking in the turns, which produces exciting racing. Drivers can't go flat out on the course, which creates overtaking opportunities in the turns as well as the straights. The Mile opened in 1903 and little has changed to the configuration.