Sonoma Raceway
GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma
Race Complete


Ryan Briscoe
Team Penske
Will Power
Team Penske
Dario Franchitti
Target Chip Ganassi Racing

Race Recap

Ryan Briscoe had finished second twice, third and fourth at Sonoma in the past four years. Think he was due?

Long overdue -- on the road course and in general -- the veteran Team Penske driver would interject.

So it was an elated Briscoe, who started next to Team Penske teammate and pole sitter Will Power, who hoisted a glass of cabernet in Victory Circle following the 85-lap GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma. He held off Power by 0.4408 of a second for his first victory since Texas in 2010. Briscoe is the seventh different winner in 13 IZOD IndyCar Series races this season.

“It’s big. I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to win again," he said. "Especially here in Sonoma, I’ve always done so well at this track and I got my first-ever pole position here (2005) so it’s great to finally get the win.  Great battle with Will at the end there."

Briscoe gained the lead on a pit stop sequence on Lap 65 when he hit the blend line ahead of Power, who had pitted a lap earlier but was caught behind traffic during the first full-course caution in more than 2½ races. 

"He definitely had some bad luck in the pits, but we were there all day," Briscoe added. "This is definitely a confidence-builder."

Power, who clinched the Mario Andretti Road Course Trophy for the third consecutive year, did increase his championship points lead from five to 36 over Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Autosport with two races remaining.

Dario Franchitti finished third and Rubens Barrichello posted a season-high fourth place after starting 11th. Graham Rahal placed fifth and Helio Castroneves was sixth. Simon Pagenaud clinched the Sunoco Rookie of the Year award with a seventh-place finish.

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma

About the track

Sonoma Raceway

The 2.385-mile, 12-turn natural-terrain road course has it all to challenge drivers -- elevation changes, a tight right-hand hiarpin (Turn 12) leading onto the frontstretch, a Carousel turn that requires downshifting -- all packed into a scenic setting.

Social Media

Twitter: @RaceSonoma

Facebook: @RaceSonoma

Instagram: @racesonoma

Official Hashtag: #SonomaGP

Past track winners

Scott Dixon 2018
Simon Pagenaud 2017
Simon Pagenaud 2016
Scott Dixon 2015
Scott Dixon 2014
Will Power 2013
Ryan Briscoe 2012
Will Power 2011
Will Power 2010
Dario Franchitti 2009
Helio Castroneves 2008
Scott Dixon 2007
Marco Andretti 2006
Tony Kanaan 2005