Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Indianapolis 500
Race Complete


Dario Franchitti
Target Chip Ganassi Racing
Scott Dixon
Target Chip Ganassi Racing
Tony Kanaan
KV Racing Technology

Race Recap

Dario Franchitti slipped the wreath over his head and took a healthy sip of cool milk in the 91-degree mid-afternoon heat in Victory Circle at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. First, however, he donned a pair of white cardboard sunglasses -- a tribute to longtime friend, teammate, competitor and fellow Indianapolis 500 champion Dan Wheldon.

Franchitti became the seventh member of the three-time Indianapolis 500 winners club, holding off charges from Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon, Takuma Sato and Tony Kanaan over the final five laps following a restart.

Franchitti, the reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion, won under caution as Sato's No. 15 Rahal Letterman Racing car made slight contact with the left side Franchitti's No. 50 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car while running side-by-side for the lead on the white flag lap. That shot Sato's car up the track and into the Turn 1 SAFER Barrier, bringing out the yellow flag.

Franchitti led teammate Scott Dixon and Kanaan under the twin checkered flags to cap a wild and entertaining race featuring the new car-engine package. There were a record 34 lead changes among 10 drivers, including eight passes for the lead in the final 25 laps.

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcasts:

Pole Day Broadcast - 11:00am-1:00pm
Pole Day Broadcast - 4:30pm-6:00pm
Bump Day Broadcast - 11am-1pm
Bump Day Broadcast - 5:00pm-6:00pm
Carb Day Broadcast
The 96th Running of the Indianapolis 500

About the track

Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Oval)

With four corners banked at 9 degrees, 12 minutes, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway drives more like a road course than an oval. But each of the corners is different, with weather influencing the car's characteristics. The straightaways are 5/8ths of a mile long -- time to catch your breath and dive into the next corner.

Social Media

Twitter: @IMS

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Instagram: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Official Hashtag: #Indy500

Past track winners

Takuma Sato 2020
Simon Pagenaud 2019
Will Power 2018
Takuma Sato 2017
Alexander Rossi 2016
Juan Pablo Montoya 2015
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2014
Tony Kanaan 2013
Dario Franchitti 2012
Dan Wheldon 2011
Dario Franchitti 2010
Helio Castroneves 2009
Scott Dixon 2008
Dario Franchitti 2007
Sam Hornish, Jr. 2006
Dan Wheldon 2005
Buddy Rice 2004
Gil de Ferran 2003
Helio Castroneves 2002
Helio Castroneves 2001
Juan Pablo Montoya 2000
Kenny Brack 1999
Eddie Cheever, Jr. 1998
Arie Luyendyk 1997
Buddy Lazier 1996
Jacques Villeneuve 1995
Al Unser, Jr. 1994
Emerson Fittipaldi 1993
Al Unser, Jr. 1992
Rick Mears 1991
Arie Luyendyk 1990
Emerson Fittipaldi 1989
Rick Mears 1988
Al Unser 1987
Bobby Rahal 1986
Danny Sullivan 1985
Rick Mears 1984
Tom Sneva 1983
Gordon Johncock 1982
Bobby Unser 1981
Johnny Rutherford 1980
Rick Mears 1979
Al Unser 1978
A.J. Foyt 1977
Johnny Rutherford 1976
Bobby Unser 1975
Johnny Rutherford 1974
Gordon Johncock 1973
Mark Donohue 1972
Al Unser 1971
Al Unser 1970
Mario Andretti 1969
Bobby Unser 1968
A.J. Foyt 1967
Graham Hill 1966
Jim Clark 1965
A.J. Foyt 1964
Parnelli Jones 1963
Rodger Ward 1962
A.J. Foyt 1961
Jim Rathmann 1960
Rodger Ward 1959
Jimmy Bryan 1958
Sam Hanks 1957
Pat Flaherty 1956
Bob Sweikert 1955
Bill Vukovich 1954
Bill Vukovich 1953
Troy Ruttman 1952
Lee Wallard 1951
Johnnie Parsons 1950
Bill Holland 1949
Mauri Rose 1948
Mauri Rose 1947
George Robson 1946
Floyd Davis & Mauri Rose 1941
Wilbur Shaw 1940
Wilbur Shaw 1939
Floyd Roberts 1938
Wilbur Shaw 1937
Louis Meyer 1936
Kelly Petillo 1935
Bill Cummings 1934
Louis Meyer 1933
Fred Frame 1932
Louis Schneider 1931
Billy Arnold 1930
Ray Keech 1929
Louis Meyer 1928
George Souders 1927
Frank Lockhart 1926
Peter DePaolo 1925
Lora Corum & Joe Boyer 1924
Tommy Milton 1923
Jimmy Murphy 1922
Tommy Milton 1921
Gaston Chevrolet 1920
Howdy Wilcox 1919
NO RACE - WWI 1918
NO RACE - WWI 1917
Dario Resta 1916
Ralph DePalma 1915
Rene Thomas 1914
Jules Goux 1913
Joe Dawson 1912
Ray Harroun 1911