Iowa Speedway
Sukup 100
Race Complete


Esteban Guerrieri
Sam Schmidt Motorsports
Gustavo Yacaman
Team Moore Racing
Victor Carbone
Sam Schmidt Motorsports

Race Recap

Esteban Guerrieri held off Gustavo Yacaman by 0.4005 of a second to win the Sukup 100 at Iowa Speedway. It was the third victory of the season for the driver of the No. 11 Pistas Argentinas/Sam Schmidt Motorsports with Curb Agajanian car. Guerrieri has finished in the top five in all but one race (seventh at Belle Isle), which has led him to the Firestone Indy Lights championship points lead. 

Guerrieri, running second to teammate Tristan Vautier, inherited the lead on Lap 71 of 115 as Vautier was metered a drive-through penalty for blocking. He rallied to finish fourth (3.9 seconds back) in the No. 77 Mazda Road to Indy/SSM with Curb Agajanian car.

“It was a race where I didn’t have a great start," Guerrieri said. "Tristan took off early and I lost my second position; I was actually back to third. The key was to then be patient. I was close to first but I was burning my front tires trying to get there too fast. I got to second behind Tristan and I was patient. 

"It is clear the man in front can’t block and he blocked me so they had to give him the penalty. He unfortunately got the penalty, and I was up front. I am very happy with my third win of the season. I tried to get away from the lapped traffic and stay up front, and I that is where I stayed.”

Added Vautier: "The car was fantastic. I built a (1.5-second) lead but had some trouble with lapped traffic when I came up on it. Esteban caught me and I accidentally squeezed him. My car was so great that I was able to get back on the lead lap and make a late pass for P-4, which was great. It's disappointing when we had such a dominant race going."

Victor Carbone, driving the No. 3 Mav TV/Nevoni/SSM with Curb Agajanian car, finished a season-high third.

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the Sukup 100

About the track

Iowa Speedway

Iowa Speedway is a .875-mile tri-oval with variable banking that drives like a much bigger superspeedway. With laps under 18 seconds, "The World's Fastest Short Track" is exceptionally demanding physically and mentally on drivers. It was designed with the second generation of SAFER Barrier around the entire perimeter of the racetrack.

Social Media

Twitter: @iowaspeedway

Facebook: @IowaSpeedway

Instagram: @iowaspeedway

Official Hashtag: #IowaCorn300

Past track winners

Matheus Leist / 2017
Felix Serralles / 2016
Max Chilton / 2015
Sage Karam / 2013
Esteban Guerrieri / 2012
Josef Newgarden / 2011
Sebastian Saavedra / 2010
Ana Beatriz / 2009
Dillon Battistini / 2008
Alex Lloyd / 2007