Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Firestone Freedom 100
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Speedway, IN
Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Firestone Freedom 100
Race Complete


Esteban Guerrieri
Sam Schmidt Motorsports
Carlos Munoz
Andretti Autosport
Tristan Vautier
Sam Schmidt Motorsports

Race Recap

Esteban Guerrieri, winning for the second time this season, pumped his fist as the No. 11 Pistas Argentinas/Sam Schmidt Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian car crossed under the checkered flag. It was the fourth consecutive year that a Sam Schmidt Motorsports driver won the race.

The young Argentinian overtook race leader Tristan Vautier and Gustavo Yacaman in Turn 1 on Lap 38 -- leading at the start/finish line by 0.0352 of a second over Carlos Munoz, who drafted past the other competitors -- and went on to win the Firestone Freedom 100.

"It was one of those weekends that I really trusted that I was going to finished well even if I qualified bad, and then we changed the engine because we felt it had some problems, and then we are (in Victory Circle)," said Guerrieri, who vaulted to the top of the series championship standings heading to Belle Isle in Detroit next week.

"But I’m really happy from starting last to give this to the guys. The Sam Schmidt Motorsports team is very good. I’m really happy and I can’t thank enough to Sam for giving me the opportunity to be here, and for all the guys and everybody that’s here enjoying this beautiful weekend."

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

About the track

Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Oval)

With four corners banked at 9 degrees, 12 minutes, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway drives more like a road course than an oval. But each of the corners is different, with weather influencing the car's characteristics. The straightaways are 5/8ths of a mile long -- time to catch your breath and dive into the next corner.

Social Media

Twitter: @IMS

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Instagram: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Official Hashtag: #Indy500

Past track winners

Matheus Leist / 2017
Dean Stoneman / 2016
Jack Harvey / 2015
Gabby Chaves / 2014
Peter Dempsey / 2013
Esteban Guerrieri / 2012
Josef Newgarden / 2011
Wade Cunningham / 2010
Wade Cunningham / 2009
Dillon Battistini / 2008
Alex Lloyd / 2007
Wade Cunningham / 2006
Jaime Camara / 2005
Thiago Medeiros / 2004
Ed Carpenter / 2003