2019 winner Simon Pagenaud


Indianapolis, Indiana

Event date: Indianapolis 500, May 24.

The circuit: The oval is 2.5 miles as it was designed more than a century ago (first race held in 1909). The flat straightaways are five-eighths of a mile in length and measure 50 feet in width. The four corners, banked at 9 degrees and 12 minutes, are 60 feet wide. The north and south chutes are a quarter-mile long.

Tickets: Tickets can be obtained here. Consider buying a bronze or silver badge for pit and garage access.

2019 Indy 500Storylines for 2020: As usual, there are many, and they will continue to develop in the four months ahead. For starters, Helio Castroneves will have his 11th opportunity to score a record-tying fourth victory. Team Penske, which has won the past two 500s, will be aiming for a record-extending 19th. Reigning NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Josef Newgarden will be determined to join Roger Penske’s prestigious winner’s club, a membership comprised of Mark Donohue, Rick Mears, Bobby Unser, Danny Sullivan, Al Unser, Emerson Fittipaldi, Al Unser Jr., Castroneves, Gil de Ferran, Sam Hornish Jr., Juan Pablo Montoya, Will Power and Simon Pagenaud. For the record, Penske has won three 500s in succession only once prior (2001-03). Andretti Autosport could have association with as many as seven cars, and it’s a strong possibility that two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso is driving one of them. Ed Carpenter has won three poles, but he is still seeking his first win.

Newcomers: Alexander Rossi was the last first-time starter to win the 500, in 2016, and prior to that it was Castroneves in 2001. This year’s group will have even greener first-timers. Oliver Askew (Arrow McLaren SP), Rinus VeeKay (Ed Carpenter Racing) and Alex Palou (Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh) at this point have never started an Indy car race much less the 500. Pato O’Ward (Arrow McLaren SP) failed to qualify as a rookie last year. There still could be more rookies added to the entry list as several teams have not named drivers. Colton Herta, who has moved to Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport, was a rookie in last year’s race, but he managed only three laps due to his car suffering mechanical failure.

Miller Lite Carb Day: Friday, May 22 will be one of the biggest days of the month, with a practice, an Indy Lights race, the pit stop competition and the concert featuring REO Speedwagon and Styx capping the festivities. Tickets can be obtained here.

Firestone Legends Day concert: The concert on Saturday, May 23 featurescountry music sensation Luke Bryan. Tickets can be obtained here.

Indy 500 Snake Pit presented by Coors Light: This is the infield concert on race day (Sunday, May 24), is headlined by EDM superstar Martin Garrix. Live performances by Galantis, Rezz, Steve Aoki and Yellow Claw add to the experience. Tickets can be obtained here. All Snake Pit attendees must also hold a valid Indy 500 race day ticket.


1911 (AAA): Ray Harroun

1912 (AAA): Joe Dawson

1913 (AAA): Jules Goux

1914 (AAA): Rene Thomas

1915 (AAA): Ralph DePalma

1916 (AAA): Dario Resta

1919 (AAA): Howdy Wilcox

1920 (AAA): Gaston Chevrolet

1921 (AAA): Tommy Milton

1922 (AAA): Jimmy Murphy

1923 (AAA): Tommy Milton

1924 (AAA): L.L. Corum-J.Boyer

1925 (AAA): Peter DePaolo

1926 (AAA): Frank Lockhart

1927 (AAA): George Souders

1928 (AAA): Louis Meyer

1929 (AAA): Ray Keech

1930 (AAA): Billy Arnold

1931 (AAA): Louis Schneider

1932 (AAA): Fred Frame

1933 (AAA): Louis Meyer

1934 (AAA): Bill Cummings

1935 (AAA): Kelly Petillo

1936 (AAA): Louis Meyer

1937 (AAA): Wilbur Shaw

1938 (AAA): Floyd Roberts

1939 (AAA): Wilbur Shaw

1940 (AAA): Wilbur Shaw

1941 (AAA): F.Davis-Mauri Rose

1946 (AAA): George Robson

1947 (AAA): Mauri Rose

1948 (AAA): Mauri Rose

1949 (AAA): Bill Holland

1950 (AAA): Johnnie Parsons

1951 (AAA): Lee Wallard

1952 (AAA): Troy Ruttman

1953 (AAA): Bill Vukovich

1954 (AAA): Bill Vukovich

1955 (AAA): Bob Sweikert

1956 (USAC): Pat Flaherty

1957 (USAC): Sam Hanks

1958 (USAC): Jimmy Bryan

1959 (USAC): Rodger Ward

1960 (USAC): Jim Rathmann

1961 (USAC): A.J. Foyt

1962 (USAC): Rodger Ward

1963 (USAC): Parnelli Jones

1964 (USAC): A.J. Foyt

1965 (USAC): Jim Clark

1966 (USAC): Graham Hill

1967 (USAC): A.J. Foyt

1968 (USAC): Bobby Unser

1969 (USAC): Mario Andretti

1970 (USAC): Al Unser

1971 (USAC): Al Unser

1972 (USAC): Mark Donohue

1973 (USAC): Gordon Johncock

1974 (USAC): Johnny Rutherford

1975 (USAC): Bobby Unser

1976 (USAC): Johnny Rutherford

1977 (USAC): A.J. Foyt

1978 (USAC): Al Unser

1979 (USAC): Rick Mears

1980 (USAC): Johnny Rutherford

1981 (USAC): Bobby Unser

1982 (USAC): Gordon Johncock

1983 (USAC): Tom Sneva

1984 (USAC): Rick Mears

1985 (USAC): Danny Sullivan

1986 (USAC): Bobby Rahal

1987 (USAC): Al Unser

1988 (USAC): Rick Mears

1989 (USAC): Emerson Fittipaldi

1990 (USAC): Arie Luyendyk

1991 (USAC): Rick Mears

1992 (USAC): Al Unser Jr.

1993 (USAC): Emerson Fittipaldi

1994 (USAC): Al Unser Jr.

1995 (USAC): Jacques Villeneuve

1996 (USAC): Buddy Lazier

1997 (USAC): Arie Luyendyk

1998 (IRL): Eddie Cheever

1999 (IRL): Kenny Brack

2000 (IRL): Juan Pablo Montoya

2001 (IRL): Helio Castroneves

2002 (IRL): Helio Castroneves

2003 (IRL): Gil de Ferran

2004 (IRL): Buddy Rice

2005 (IRL): Dan Wheldon

2006 (IRL): Sam Hornish Jr.

2007 (IRL): Dario Franchitti

2008 (IRL): Scott Dixon

2009 (IRL): Helio Castroneves

2010 (IRL): Dario Franchitti

2011 (INDYCAR): Dan Wheldon

2012 (INDYCAR): Dario Franchitti

2013 (INDYCAR): Tony Kanaan

2014 (INDYCAR): Ryan Hunter-Reay

2015 (INDYCAR): Juan Pablo Montoya

2016 (INDYCAR): Alexander Rossi

2017 (INDYCAR): Takuma Sato

2018 (INDYCAR): Will Power

2019 (INDYCAR): Simon Pagenaud