Mid-Ohio 2018

With the countdown to the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season in high gear, INDYCAR is highlighting the events on next year's calendar. Featured here: The Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, which begins public sale of tickets Tuesday:


Track Information: 13-turn, 2.258-mile permanent road course at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio.

Race Dates: Aug. 14-16, 2020.

Tickets on Sale: Public tickets on sale starting Tuesday. Go to midohio.com/tickets for details.

History: 35 races dating to July 13, 1980.

Why You Should Go: Central Midwest location with some of the best camping opportunities on the NTT IndyCar Series schedule. Plentiful hillside viewing opportunities.

The King of Mid-Ohio: It’s easy to anoint Bobby Rahal, who considered this his home track, or his son, Graham, who was born 50 miles to the south in New Albany, Ohio, as the king of this iconic permanent road course. But the driver to beat there in recent years has been Scott Dixon, who has won six races in Chip Ganassi Racing cars. Keep in mind Dixon has won those six races in only 13 starts since Indy car racing returned to Mid-Ohio following a four-year break. Two of Dixon's wins came from the pole, and he won the 2014 race from the last starting position (22nd). In that race he led 45 of the 90 laps.

Scott Dixon at Mid-Ohio

Repeating the Feat: Yes, Dixon will be the favorite to win next year’s race and not simply because he usually finishes well there. Mid-Ohio has a strong history of drivers winning consecutive races, including Bobby Rahal (1985-86), Michael Andretti (1990-91), Emerson Fittipaldi (1992-93), Al Unser Jr. (1994-95), Alex Zanardi (1996-97), Helio Castroneves (2000-01) and Dixon (2011-12). Dixon even had a stretch of five wins in eight years (2007-14). Chip Ganassi Racing has won 11 races.

Close Finishes: Chip Ganassi Racing teammates Scott Dixon and then-rookie Felix Rosenqvist produced the closest 1-2 finish in event history earlier this year when they were separated at the finish by a mere 0.0934 seconds. Previously, the event record for close finishes was 0.247 seconds (Adrian Fernandez over Scott Pruett in 1998).

Few Flags: Two of the past three Mid-Ohio races have been caution-free, and that’s happened four times since 2012.

Race on the Move: Because of NBC’s coverage of the Summer Olympics in Tokyo, next year’s Mid-Ohio race will be held a few weeks later in the calendar. Race day (Aug. 16) will be the event’s latest since 1993 when the races were held in September.

How it Happened: Watch a recap of Scott Dixon's latest Mid-Ohio victory in this edition of Fast Forward.


1980 (CART): Johnny Rutherford

1983 (CART): Teo Fabi

1984 (CART): Mario Andretti

1985 (CART): Bobby Rahal

1986 (CART): Bobby Rahal

1987 (CART): Roberto Guerrero

1988 (CART): Emerson Fittipaldi

1989 (CART): Teo Fabi

1990 (CART): Michael Andretti

1991 (CART): Michael Andretti

1992 (CART): Emerson Fittipaldi

1993 (CART): Emerson Fittipaldi

1994 (CART): Al Unser Jr.

1995 (CART): Al Unser Jr.

1996 (CART): Alex Zanardi

1997 (CART): Alex Zanardi

1998 (CART): Adrian Fernandez

1999 (CART): Juan Pablo Montoya

2000 (CART): Helio Castroneves

2001 (CART): Helio Castroneves

2002 (CART): Patrick Carpentier

2003 (CART): Paul Tracy

2007 (IRL): Scott Dixon

2008 (IRL): Ryan Briscoe

2009 (IRL): Scott Dixon

2010 (IRL): Dario Franchitti

2011 (INDYCAR): Scott Dixon

2012 (INDYCAR): Scott Dixon

2013 (INDYCAR): Charlie Kimball

2014 (INDYCAR): Scott Dixon

2015 (INDYCAR): Graham Rahal

2016 (INDYCAR): Simon Pagenaud

2017 (INDYCAR): Josef Newgarden

2018 (INDYCAR): Alexander Rossi

2019 (INDYCAR): Scott Dixon