Scott Dixon

Texas Motor Speedway, which has hosted the Verizon IndyCar Series every year since its opening in 1997, announced Oct. 3 that the Firestone 600 will be contested on the 1.45-mile, high-banked oval on June 11, 2016.

Scott Dixon of Target Chip Ganassi Racing won “America’s Original Nighttime IndyCar Race” this past June – one of his three victories on the way to earning his fourth Verizon IndyCar Series championship. He also won in his 2008 title season, and has five other finishes in the top three.

Helio Castroneves has the most Verizon IndyCar Series wins at the racetrack with four – among the eight victories for Team Penske. CFH Racing's Ed Carpenter and Josef Newgarden are scheduled to participate in a team test on the oval Oct. 14.

Green flag time and the TV partner will be announced later, as will the entire Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

The 2016 race weekend will mark the 20th anniversary as an INDYCAR/NASCAR combination event. June 10 features qualifying for the Verizon IndyCar Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, which will be followed by the running of the Camping World Truck Series Rattlesnake 400 under the lights.

Season tickets go on sale beginning Nov. 2. Individual tickets for the Firestone 600 weekend go on sale Feb. 12. For more information, contact the Texas Motor Speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500 or visit