Scott Dixon and Conor Daly

NEW CASTLE, Ind. – Scott Dixon nearly pulled off a weekend sweep of karting events at New Castle Motorsports Park.

A day after winning the Dan Wheldon Memorial Pro-Am Race honoring Justin Wilson, the reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion teamed with Verizon IndyCar Series star Josef Newgarden to finish second in the 12th annual RoboPong 200, endurance karting event.

In a race that was decided by fuel mileage, the KartSport North America / AMR entry of Jake Donald and Brandon Jones kept up a blistering pace while making just three stops for gas put them out front for the victory and $10,000. Dixon and Newgarden were 47 seconds behind the winners.

Other teams with INDYCAR ties, included the No. 20 of Ed Carpenter and Nathan O’Rourke, who finished seventh. The Rising Star Racing entry of Indy Lights champion Spencer Pigot and Pro Mazda Championship driver Neil Alberico ended up ninth, while Team Lionheart, featuring Conor Daly and Austen Wheldon finished 15th.

Sage Karam, who qualified fourth, had his ironman effort end with brake issues after 138 laps. Will Power and James Davison, driving the team kart to the winning entry, also retired early.