Scott Dixon

Some numbers to note from qualifications for the 99th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race:

2 -- Rookies who qualified (Gabby Chaves and Stefano Coletti) for the 33-car field. Last year there were seven rookies.

4 -- Poles earned for team owner Chip Ganassi.

4 -- Drivers who did not start last year's race: Bryan Clauson, Conor Daly, Simona de Silvestro and James Jakes. Clauson’s last start in the Indianapolis 500 was in 2012.  The last start for Daly, de Silvestro and Jakes was in 2013.

5 -- Former Indianapolis 500 winners who qualified: Tony Kanaan (2013), Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009), Scott Dixon (2008), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014) and Juan Pablo Montoya (2000). The record for most former winners in the field is 10 in 1992. The fewest, other than the inaugural race in 1911, is zero in 1912.

3.9749 -- Time difference in seconds between fastest qualifier Scott Dixon and slowest qualifier Bryon Clauson. This is the eighth closest field by time. The closest field by time is 2.1509 seconds set last year.

14 -- Helio Castroneves is the most experienced driver in the field with 14 previous 500 starts. The record is 35, set in consecutive years from 1958-1992 by A.J. Foyt.

15 -- Graduates of Indy Lights who qualified in the starting field: Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Gabby Chaves, James Davison, Jack Hawksworth, JR Hildebrand, James Hinchcliffe, Sage Karam, Charlie Kimball, Pippa Mann, Carlos Munoz, Josef Newgarden, Graham Rahal and Sebastian Saavedra.

19 -- Different drivers in the field who have led a total of 1,540 laps in previous Indianapolis 500 Mile races.

42 -- Alex Tagliani is the oldest qualifier. The youngest is Sage Karam, 20. A.J. Foyt IV is the youngest driver to start the Indianapolis 500. His 19th birthday was on Race Day 2003.

157 -- There is a combined 157 previous Indianapolis 500 starts among the 33 qualifiers. The record is 260 years set in 1987 and 1992. There were 149 years of combined experience in last year’s field.

350 -- Pole winner Scott Dixon's career laps in the Indianapolis 500, more than any other driver in this year’s field. Other drivers in the field who have led more than 200 laps are Helio Castroneves (270) and Tony Kanaan (256).