Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon’s victory in his ninth start at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach checked off a longstanding personal box.

“I think it's a big breakthrough for myself,” the three-time Verizon IndyCar Series champion said. “I love Long Beach, but as a track and one that you want to come and do well at it hasn't been on the top of my list. Now, it's obviously changed. I think we found some things that have enabled me to adapt to the circuit. It's just a shame it's taken nine years.”

The driver of the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet will seek another first this weekend in the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, in which he’s been the runner-up four years (2010-13) and finished third in 2014.

“The majority (of preseason team testing) was at Barber and NOLA, so I think the road courses are kind of our strong suit right now,” he said. “We have to see how that plays out obviously with Barber and Indy coming up.”

Click it: Entry list || Get tickets, info for Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

At the March 16-17 Promoter Test on the 2.3-mile, 17-turn Barber Motorsports Park layout – the first all-team track sessions with the Chevrolet and Honda road/street and short oval aerodynamic package – Dixon was second quick overall with a lap of 1 minute, 07.3996 seconds (162 total laps).

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power, driving the No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, had the quickest lap of 1:07.3118 seconds (123.010 mph), which was a full second quicker than his 2014 pole-winning lap time on Firestone alternate tires. Twenty-one drivers bettered Power’s 2014 pole lap time over the four sessions.

Dixon holds the track record with a lap of 1:06.7750 in Round 1 of qualifying in 2013, also on Firestone alternate tires that offer more grip. Ryan Hunter-Reay, driving the No. 28 DHL Andretti Autosport Chevrolet, has won the past two races at the track in Birmingham, Ala.

Dixon’s victory at Long Beach was the 36th of his career, which broke a tie with Bobby Unser for fifth on the all-time Indy car list. Al Unser is fourth with 39 victories, and A.J. Foyt tops everyone with 67.

Dixon also tied Bobby Unser, Emerson Fittipaldi and Helio Castroneves atop the all-time list with an Indy car victory in 11 consecutive seasons, and he tied Rick Mears and Gordon Johncock with at least one victory in 13 seasons. A.J. Foyt with 18 is the leader and Mario Andretti with 16 is second.

“It feels amazing to even be on a list with a lot of those names. It's a real privilege,” said Dixon, who turns 35 on July 22. “But I think stats are something that you look back on when you're done with your career, and hopefully you're happy with them.

“Right now we're fifth. I think we'd definitely like to build on it, and the only way we're going to do that is to win races. I'm very lucky to be with a team like Team Target. All but one win (2001 at Nazareth with PacWest Racing) has been with this team, so a huge amount of credit goes to them as a team for enabling me to take it to the winner's circle a lot of the time.”

Click to Download (PDF):
Scott Dixon Historical Record Sheet during current win streak (2005-2015)

Most Consecutive Seasons With One or More Wins (1946-2015)
Seasons Driver Years Sanctioning Organization
11 Bobby Unser 1966-1976 USAC
Emerson Fittipaldi 1985-1995 CART
Helio Castroneves 2000-2010 CART, IRL
Scott Dixon 2005-2015 IRL, IC
9 Johnny Rutherford 1973-1981 USAC
Michael Andretti 1994-2002 CART
8 Rick Mears 1978-1985 USAC, CART
Bobby Rahal 1982-1989 CART
Al Unser Jr. 1988-1995 CART
7 Rodger Ward 1957-1963 USAC
Gordon Johncock 1973-1979 USAC, CART
Scott Sharp 1996/97-2003 IRL
Sam Hornish Jr. 2001-2007 IRL
6 Tony Kanaan 2003-2008 IRL

Active streak

Most Seasons With At Least One Win (1946-2015)
Seasons Driver Sanctioning Organization
18 A.J. Foyt USAC
16 Mario Andretti USAC, CART
15 Michael Andretti CART
14 Al Unser USAC, CART
Al Unser Jr. CART, IRL
Bobby Unser USAC, CART
Helio Castroneves CART, IRL, IC
13 Rick Mears USAC, CART
Gordon Johncock USAC, CART
Scott Dixon CART, IRL, IC
12 Johnny Rutherford USAC, CART
11 Emerson Fittipaldi CART
Paul Tracy CART, CC
Dario Franchitti CART, IRL, IC
10 Bobby Rahal CART
Tony Kanaan CART, IRL, IC
8 Scott Sharp IRL
Rodger Ward USAC
Danny Sullivan CART, USAC
Ryan Hunter-Reay CART, CC, IRL, IC
Will Power CC, IRL, IC
7 Gil de Ferran CART, IRL
Sam Hornish, Jr. IRL
Tom Sneva CART, USAC
6 Justin Wilson CC,IRL, IC
Sebastien Bourdais CC, IC

Active drivers as of the 2014 season

Scott Dixon's Year-By-Year during streak (2005-2015)
Year Total Wins Races Won Sanctioning Organization
2005 1 Watkins Glen IRL
2006 2 Watkins Glen
2007 4 Watkins Glen
Infineon (Sonoma)
2008 6 Homestead-Miami
2009 5 Kansas
Twin Ring Motegi
2010 3 Kansas
2011 2 Mid-Ohio
Twin Ring Motegi
2012 2 Detroit - Belle Isle
2013 4 Pocono
Toronto (Race 1)
Toronto (Race 2)
Houston (Race 1)
2014 2 Mid-Ohio
2015 1 Long Beach INDYCAR

Series Champion