Florian Latorre

Florian Latorre, the 2014 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda champion, will move up to the Pro Mazda Presented by Cooper Tires Championship with Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing.

Latorre, who turns 18 on April 24, recorded three victories and 10 pole starts on his way to the title in a Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing car.

“I signed with Cape Motorsports because this is a team with whom I had a great year with in USF2000,” Latorre said.  “They are very professional in their work, and they are very competent. I love working with them always in the pursuit of excellence and perfection to win. In 2015, I have the goal of winning the Pro Mazda Championship, and I know that is possible with Cape Motorsports.”

The team made its Pro Mazda debut in 2014, with its drivers finishing 2-3 in the standings. Latorre, who helped the team win its fourth consecutive USF2000 championship, will join previously announced driver Daniel Burkett.

“We had a great year with Florian in 2014,” team co-owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape said. “We saw him grow as a driver into a true champion. We feel confident that he will bring the momentum of the USF2000 series into Pro Mazda. We would like to thank Mazda and John Doonan for establishing the scholarship program, which is now globally recognized, along with the series and their partners.”

The Pro Mazda season starts March 28-29 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla., as part of the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg featuring the Verizon IndyCar Series race.