James Hinchcliffe

WEST ALLIS, Wis. -- James Hinchcliffe laid down the fastest lap of 165.451 mph (22.0851 seconds) early in the 60-minute morning practice session for the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 at Milwaukee IndyFest.

Hinchcliffe, coming off his first podium finish of the season at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Aug. 3, recorded 31 laps in the No. 27 United Fiber & Data car for Andretti Autosport.

The 22-car field was separated by .8058 of a second. Four of the top five on the speed chart are non-winners this season; the exception being three-time winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, who has won the past two Verizon IndyCar Series races at the Milwaukee Mile. There have been 10 different winners through the 15 races this season -- one off the 2000 record matched in '01.

Click it: Practice 1 results

A second 60-minute practice is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. (ET), with qualifications at 6 p.m. Live streaming video, augmented by real-time Timing & Scoring and the IMS Radio Network broadcast with Paul Page, of both sessions is on IndyCar.com. The 250-lap race is at 3 p.m. (ET) Aug. 17 on NBCSN.

Ryan Briscoe, who won his initial Verizon IndyCar Series race in 2008, was second fast in the session on the 1.015-mile oval at 165.349 mph (22.0987 seconds).

"It was pretty green this morning. As (tire) rubber goes down the track will get quicker," said Briscoe, driver of the No. 8 NTT DATA Chip Ganassi Racing car. "Qualifying this evening will be pretty fast."

Hunter-Reay (165.283 mph) was third, followed by Josef Newgarden (164.673) and Tony Kanaan (164.628).

Click for the high-resolution infographic

Milwaukee Practice 1 Infographic