Castroneves On Track

Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston presented by the Greater Houston Honda Dealers

TV: NBCSN telecasts at 3 p.m. (ET). Leigh Diffey is the chief announcer. Paul Tracy and Steve Matchett are the analysts.

Radio/web: All Verizon IndyCar Series sessions are broadcast on and the INDYCAR 14 app in conjunction with real-time Timing & Scoring. The race also will be broadcast on IMS Radio Network affiliates, XM 209 and Sirius 213. Paul Page is the chief announcer.

Click it: Race 2 starting lineup and tire designation || Qualifying results

Twitter: @GPHOU, @IndyCar, #GPHOU

Weather forecast: Partly cloudy; highs in the upper 80s

Race laps: 90 in counterclockwise direction on the 1.634-mile, 10-turn temporary street circuit

Start: Rolling start … single-file restarts

Pit box dimensions: 35 x 18 feet

Fuel: 60 U.S. gallons of E85 ... Verizon IndyCar Series cars carry 18.5 U.S. gallons

Tires: The Firestone primary tires are the same construction and compound as used at St. Petersburg, Long Beach and Belle Isle earlier this season. The same alternate tires are being used on all street course races this season.

Engines: 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V6s supplied by Chevrolet and Honda ... 150 kPa turbo boost for road/street course races; 160 kPa for push to pass (10 pushes for 15-second activation)

Race 1: In changing track conditions, rookie Carlos Huertas won his first Verizon IndyCar Series race. Juan Pablo Montoya was second and rookie Carlos Munoz was third. Four different teams were represented in the top five. Race 1 box score

For spectators: Youngsters 12 and under receive free grounds admission with a paid adult ticket. … The Verizon IndyCar Series paddock is open to spectators. … The INDYCAR Fan Village behind NRG Arena is part of a Family Fun Zone that includes a go-kart track, interactive games and live music. ... The free Grand Prix-mere Showcase inside NRG Arena is a conglomeration of trade show, lifestyle expo, auto show, garden show and country fair. … Misting and water stations will be available around the venue. Spectators will be allowed to enter with a 20-ounce (or smaller) water bottle. ... Bobby Rahal is the grand marshal.

Of note: This is the second of three doubleheaders this season (Belle Isle on May 31-June 1 and Toronto on July 19-20 the others) and both races carry full points. … There have been six different Verizon P1 Award winners in the past seven races and there have been six different winners in the seven road/street course races this season. … The first Indy car race at NRG Park was in 2006 (Sebastien Bourdais, who placed fourth in Race 1 on June 28, was the winner on the way to the Champ Car title). ... No driver has won from the pole this season. ... Championship leader Will Power takes a 31-point lead over Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves into the race. ... Takuma Sato and Mike Conway, who were evaluated for hand injuries in Race 1, were cleared to drive.