TK leads final practice at Texas

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Tony Kanaan wasn't too pleased with his two-lap qualifying run on the 1.5-mile, high-banked Texas Motor Speedway oval. He was appeased three hours later after topping the speed chart in the final practice for the 228-lap Firestone 550 on June 8 (8:30 p.m. ET on ABC).

Kanaan, who won the June 2004 race at Texas on his way to the IZOD IndyCar Series championship, posted a fast lap of 218.551 mph (23.9670 seconds) in the No. 11 Sunoco "Turbo" car for KV Racing Technology-SH Racing. He had qualified 15th (215.474 mph average speed).

Click it: Final practice results || Combined practice results

James Hinchcliffe, the lone two-time race winner this season, also was happier with the balance of his No. 27 car for Andretti Autosport in the 30-minute practice session. He was second at 217.575 mph.

Eight teams were represented in the top 10, which is an indication of how competitive the 25th IZOD IndyCar Series race at the speedway will be under the lights.

The Nos. 55 and 77 cars of rookie Tristan Vautier and teammate Simon Pagenaud will have 10-grid spot penalties at the outset of the 228-lap race because of unapproved Honda engine changes June 7. The Chevrolet-powered No. 78 Nuclear Entergy Areva car driven by Simona De Silvestro for KV Racing Technology also has been assessed a 10-grid spot penalty as the engine manufacturer must inform its INDYCAR engine support engineer of the engine failure within five hours of the end of the race.