Tony Kanaan at Iowa

NEWTON, Iowa --Tony Kanaan has finished first, second and third in the past three races at Iowa Speedway. He's off to a good start in repeating a podium finish by pacing the morning practice session on the .875-mile oval with a fast lap of 184.063 mph (17.4853 seconds) in the No. 11 Sunoco "Turbo" car for KV Racing Technology-SH Racing.

Scott Dixon holds the single-lap qualifying record of 182.360 mph (17.6468 seconds) set June 23, 2007, in the first IZOD IndyCar Series race at the racetrack. Ryan Briscoe has the fastest lap at 184.005 mph (17.4908) set in the 2008 race.

Click it: Practice 1 results

Will Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, was second (183.602 mph) and Marco Andretti was third (183.100) in the No. 25 RC Cola car for Andretti Autosport. Andretti, who earned the Verizon P1 Award at Milwaukee last week, has won and finished second the past two years.

IZOD IndyCar Series points leader Helio Castroneves was fourth (182.962) in the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske car and Dixon was fifth (182.841) in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car.

Single-lap qualifications (4 p.m. ET; IMS Radio Network broadcast and real-time Timing & Scoring on and the INDYCAR 13 app) set the lineup for the three heat races at 6:45 p.m. (ET). Watch the 50-lap heat races live on and the INDYCAR 13 app.

Click it: Single-lap qualifying order|| Heat races explainer

The 250-lap race will be broadcast by ABC at 2:30 p.m. (ET) June 23.