Engine Count

More than half of the 26-car field for the MAVTV INDYCAR World Championships at Auto Club Speedway (including IZOD IndyCar Series title contenders Will Power and Ryan Hunter-Reay) will incur 10 grid spot penalties for the 250-lap race Sept. 15 on the 2-mile oval for violating of IZOD IndyCar Series rules.

Officials announced 10 grid spot penalties for the following cars:

No. 3 Helio Castroneves (fitting sixth engine)
No. 12 Will Power (fitting sixth engine)
No. 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (fitting sixth engine)
No. 9 Scott Dixon (unapproved engine change)
No. 14 Wade Cunningham (unapproved engine change)
No. 15 Takuma Sato (unapproved engine change)
No. 18 Justin Wilson (unapproved engine change)
No. 38 Graham Rahal (unapproved engine change)
No. 67 Josef Newgarden (unapproved engine change)
No. 78 Simona de Silvestro (unapproved engine change)
No. 83 Charlie Kimball (unapproved engine change)
No. 77 Simon Pagenaud (unapproved engine change/fitting sixth engine)
No. 98 Alex Tagliani (unapproved engine change/fitting sixth engine)
No. 27 James Hinchcliffe (unapproved engine change/fitting sixth engine).

Pursuant to IZOD IndyCar Series rules, an entrant is allowed no more than five fresh-built engines throughout each year of the engine service agreement. Additionally, changing out an engine before meeting its 1,850-mile threshold incurs a grid spot penalty.

The Honda engines in the Nos. 10 and 19 cars of Dario Franchitti and James Jakes were changed out, but the entrants were not penalized because they hit the approved engine mileage limit in testing at Auto Club Speedway on Sept. 12 and are on engine five for the season.

Similarly, the Chevrolet engines for the Nos. 4 (JR Hildebrand) and 22 (Oriol Servia) were changed out following the Sept. 12 test after topping the mileage limit. The Chevy engine in the No. 5 car (E.J. Viso) was changed out after a crash during the test, but it is on engine five. 

Car Team Driver Engine Count
Team Penske Ryan Briscoe On Engine 5
Team Penske Helio Castroneves Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
Panther Racing JR Hildebrand On Engine 5
KV Racing Technology EJ Viso On Engine 5
Dragon Racing Katherine Legge On Engine 5
KV Racing Technology Rubens Barrichello On Engine 5
Target Chip Ganassi Racing Scott Dixon Will fit Engine 7 at ACS
Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dario Franchitti On Engine 5
KV Racing Technology
w/ SH  
Tony Kanaan On Engine 5
Team Penske Will Power Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
AJ Foyt Enterprises Wade Cunningham
Will fit Engine 7 at ACS
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Takuma Sato Will fit Engine 9 at ACS
Dale Coyne Racing Justin Wilson Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
Dale Coyne Racing James Jakes On Engine 5
Ed Carpenter Racing Ed Carpenter On Engine 5
Panther / Dreyer & Reinbold Oriol Servia On Engine 5
Andretti Autosport Marco Andretti On Engine 5
Andretti Autosport James Hinchcliffe Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
Andretti Autosport Ryan Hunter-Reay Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
Service Central
Chip Ganassi Racing
Graham Rahal Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Josef Newgarden Will fit Engine 7 at ACS
Schmidt Hamilton
HP Motorsports
Simon Pagenaud Will fit Engine 6 at ACS
Lotus-HVM Racing Simona de Silvestro Will fit Engine 9 at ACS
Novo Nordisk
Chip Ganassi Racing
Charlie Kimball Will fit Engine 8 at ACS
Bryan Herta Autosport
w/ Curb-Agajanian
Alex Tagliani Will fit Engine 6 at ACS