Fan Info - INDYCAR 101 - Procedures and Rules - Engine Manufacturer Championship

Engine Manufacturer Championship

***Note: All points procedures and totals are subject to change

Engine manufacturer championship points will be awarded to the top two finishing full-season entrants for each manufacturer in a race using the same points structure as used for entrant and driver points (50 points for first place, 40 for second, etc.).

Also, five points will be awarded to the race-winning manufacturer while one point is awarded to the engine manufacturer that qualifies in the pole position at all races except the Indianapolis 500. Two points will be awarded to the engine manufacturer that wins the pole position at the Indianapolis 500 and one point will be awarded the engine manufacturer that is the fastest on the first day of Indianapolis 500 qualifying.

Additional bonus points are available to manufacturers for an engine that meets the 2,000-mile threshold during the Indianapolis 500. A one-time bonus equal the number of manufacturer points scored in the Indianapolis 500 will be awarded.

Previous Winners:

  • 2017: Chevrolet
  • 2016: Chevrolet
  • 2015: Chevrolet
  • 2014: Chevrolet
  • 2013: Chevrolet
  • 2012: Chevrolet
  • 2006-2011: Not Awarded
  • 2005: Honda
  • 2004: Honda
  • 2003: Toyota
  • 2002: Chevrolet
  • 2001: Oldsmobile
  • 2000: Oldsmobile
  • 1999: Oldsmobile
  • 1998: Oldsmobile
  • 1997: Oldsmobile