Michael d'Orlando

Michael  d'Orlando

Andretti Cape INDY NXT | Flatrock Motorclub


Michael’s racing career began in karting at the age of six, and over the next decade he garnered multiple national and international championships, culminating as a factory driver for Birel ART in the 2016 and 2017 FIA CIK World Championships. He made the move to race cars in 2018 for a partial season in the 2018 USF 2000 Championship series and another partial season in the 2019 F4 US Championship series. Finally moving to full time, d’Orlando spent the next three years with Cape Motorsports in the USF 2000 Championship series, earning top-four in the driver standings each year, including the 2022 USF 2000 Championship title. He is the only driver in series’ history to earn back-to-back sweeps at the Freedom 75. Most recently, with four wins and six pole positions, d’Orlando finished fourth in the 2023 USF Pro 2000 Championship under the direction of Turn 3 Motorsports.

Michael is originally from Hartsdale, NY and now resides in Charlotte, NC with his brother, Nicholas, whom also is a competitive driver. He attended Iona Preparatory School in New Rochelle, NY and is currently a Business Administration - Marketing student at the University of North Carolina Charlotte. d’Orlando is one of the four founding members of the PIC Meets car group in the Charlotte area and is also a very big “foodie”. He loves to cook, workout at the gym and attend various car-culture events in his free time.


Current Standing
Season Race Wins
Season Poles
Season Championship Points
Season Top 5 Finishes
Top 5s
Season Top 10 Finishes
Top 10s



Cape Motorsports, one of the most successful teams in junior formula racing, returns to INDY NXT by Firestone in 2023 with drivers Jagger Jones and Enaam Ahmed.

The team, run by brothers Nicolas and Dominic Cape, has a storied history, capturing 14 USF2000 Championship titles in the last 21 years, including 10 of the last 12 driver titles. The team has also seen success in sports car racing, earning the IMSA Prototype Challenge championship title in 2006.

The team first competed in INDYCAR’s development series in 2007, 2008 and 2010. In 2007 and 2008, the Cape brothers managed the RLR Andersen Racing team (a partnership between Dan Andersen and Rahal Letterman Racing) with a driver lineup that included future series champion JR Hildebrand, with whom the Capes had captured the USF2000 title in 2006. The team returned to INDY NXT by Firestone in 2010 in partnership with Wayne Taylor Racing, with Gustavo Yacamán behind the wheel.