Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Toronto Race 1
Streets of Toronto - Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Toronto Race 1
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
9:25 - 9:50 AM
View Session Results
Practice 2
4:40 - 5:10 PM
View Session Results
8:45 - 9:05 AM
View Session Results
1:35 - 2:15 PM
View Session Results


Florian Latorre
Cape Motorsports
Patricio O'Ward
Team Pelfrey
Timothe Buret
Juncos Racing

Race Recap

TORONTO - For the second straight year, Florian Latorre, the reigning Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda Champion, won his first race of the season on the streets surrounding Exhibition Place in Toronto. The 18-year-old and his Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing #10 Soul Red machine held off a first lap challenge and cruised to an "easy" 5.35-second victory over Team Pelfrey rookie Pato O'Ward in the Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Toronto.

It was the first Pro Mazda podium for the impressive 16-year-old O'Ward of Monterey, Mexico, who moved from fifth to third on the first lap and was able to get around second-place qualifier Garett Grist of Juncos Racing on Lap 14 to claim the second step on the podium. 

Scoring his sixth podium of the season was 20-year-old Timothe Buret. The Juncos Racing rookie from Montpellier, France spent the majority of the race in fourth place, but was able to also get around Grist on the same lap as O'Ward.  

Grist, from nearby Grimsby, Ontario brought the No. 5 Juncos Racing machine home in fifth place, the highest placed Canadian while Victor Franzoni of M1 Racing claimed his career-best finish in only his fifth Pro Mazda race after starting 11th, earning the RePlay XD Move of the Race for his pass on Grist on Lap 15.

The 18-car Pro Mazda field made it through the first two turns on the 1.755 mile, 11-Turn Exhibition Place street circuit cleanly, but unfortunately a series of incidents in the long run down Lake Shore Boulevard into Turn 3 removed six drivers from the contest and very well could have serious championship implications.  

The chaos started when Neil Alberico (Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing) made contact with the inside wall at the kink going into Turn 3. He suffered damage to the right side of the car and, as he slid through the apex, made contact with the No. 22 of Weiron Tan.  

Behind the initial contact, Toronto native Dalton Kellett of Andretti Autosport made contact with Juncos Racing's Jose Gutierrez. The pair of sophomore drivers tagged the outside wall and ended up in the Tire barriers in the Turn 3 run-off.  The third incident saw Canadian Daniel Burkett (Cape Motorsports) drive over the back of fellow Pro Mazda rookie Will Owen (Juncos Racing). 

After a seven-lap caution to clean-up the incident, the remaining 12 drivers were able to complete an exciting 13 green flag laps. After picking his way through the Turn 3 mess, 24 year-old Kyle Connery (JDC Motorsports) who qualified fifteenth, restarted the race in ninth and was able to make up three more spots to finish a season-best sixth and earn the Quarter Master Hard Charger Award. His charge through the field included a daring pass around the outside of current points leader Santiago Urrutia (Team Pelfrey) in Turn 3.   

In the Expert class, for drivers over 30 years of age, it was Bobby Eberle (World Speed Motorsports) from Chicago, Illinois who beat Jay Horak (M1 Racing) to the checkered flag.

Additional contingency awards included the Staubli Award to O'Ward and the PFC Award to the winning team of Cape Motorsports.


About the track

Streets of Toronto

The tight 11-turn, 1.786-mile Exhibition Place street circuit offers great views of downtown Toronto and often leads to cars attempting to squeeze past each other in turns. Many times, only one car makes it out unscathed. The long frontstretch leading into the Prince's Gate at Turn 1 and the Lakeshore Boulevard straight leading into a hard 90-degree right-hander at Turn 3 are the best places for overtaking.

Social Media

Twitter: @hondaindy

Facebook: @hondaindytoronto

Instagram: @hondaindy

Official Hashtag: #IndyTO

Past track winners

Rinus VeeKay (R2) / 2018
Rinus VeeKay (R1) / 2018
Aaron Telitz (R2) / 2016
Aaron Telitz (R1) / 2016
Garett Grist (R2) / 2015
Florian Latorre (R1) / 2015
Matthew Brabham (R2) / 2013
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2013
Jack Hawksworth (R2) / 2012
Jack Hawksworth (R1) / 2012
Dane Cameron / 2007