St. Petersburg
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Race 2
Streets of St. Petersburg - St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Race 2
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
St. Petersburg

On-Track Schedule

9:50 - 10:30 AM
View Session Results


Neil Alberico
Cape Motorsports
Jose Gutierrez
Juncos Racing
Daniel Burkett
Cape Motorsports

Race Recap

St. Petersburg, Fla. - Neil Alberico scored his second Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires victory in as many days as he led throughout this morning's second stanza of the Allied Building Products Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. The popular Californian started from the pole for St. Petersburg-based Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing and was never seriously threatened during the half-hour race.

Jose Gutierrez, from Monterrey, Mexico, finished second for defending champion team Juncos Racing, while Alberico's teammate, Canadian rookie Daniel Burkett, secured his first podium finish with third.

Alberico lost no time in displaying his dominance after the first six laps were completed behind the Pace Car following a five-car incident in Turn Four on the opening lap. He led by a full 1.2 seconds at the completion of the first lap of green-flag racing, and even though his charge was halted by another caution which left time enough merely for a one-lap dash to the checkers, Alberico remained unflustered as he romped home the winner by a little less than one second.

Burkett provided one of the drives of the race as he made his way from sixth on the grid to third. Another strong run by the Canadian had ended early yesterday following an incident in Turn One, but Burkett showed no ill effects as he made up two positions at the start, then passed Saturday's second-place finisher, Santiago Urrutia (Team Pelfrey) at the restart on Lap 7. The pass earned Burkett the Replay XD Move of the Race Award. He also slipped briefly into second place with a brave move past Gutierrez in Turn One on Lap 9, but was unable to cement the claim as Gutierrez regained the place almost immediately.

The Mexican and the Canadian continued their tussle to the flag at the final restart, with Burkett once again attempting a bold maneuver into Turn One. Gutierrez managed to maintain his advantage, leaving Burkett to fight off the advances of Urrutia, Kyle Connery (JDC MotorSports) and Garett Grist (Juncos Racing) at the line.

Brothers Dominic and Nicholas Cape took home the PFC Award as the winning car owners, while Gutierrez secured the Staubli Award. The Quartermaster Hard Charger Award went to Expert Class winner Jay Horak (M1 Racing), who gained eight positions from 17th place on the grid to finish ninth.

The Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires will continue with another pair of races at NOLA Motorsports Park in New Orleans, La., on April 10-12.


About the track

Streets of St. Petersburg

The 1.8-mile, 14-turn (5 lefts, 9 rights) circuit incorporates streets of downtown St. Petersburg and a section of runway of Albert Whitted Airport. After the long frontstretch, there's a tight right-hander into Turn 1 and then a quick left-hand turn. Plenty of drivers have gotten into trouble in these two turns over the years. There are two other long straights with heavy braking zones that afford opportunities to overtake.


Pole Position:
1:00.0658 (107.882 MPH) - Will Power (2016)

Race Lap:
1:01.8607 (104.751 MPH) - Helio Castroneves (2015)

Race Time:
2:04:32.4153 (95.351 MPH) - Sebastien Bourdais (2017, 110 Laps)

Past track winners

Rinus VeeKay (R2) / 2018
Rinus VeeKay (R1) / 2018
Anthony Martin (R2) / 2017
Anthony Martin (R1) / 2017
Aaron Telitz (R2) / 2016
Patricio O'Ward (R1) / 2016
Neil Alberico (R2) / 2015
Neil Alberico (R1) / 2015
Spencer Pigot (R2) / 2014
Spencer Pigot (R1) / 2014
Matthew Brabham (R2) / 2013
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2013
Jack Hawksworth (R2) / 2012
Connor de Phillippi (R1) / 2012
Connor de Phillippi / 2011
Conor Daly / 2010