St. Petersburg
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Race 1
Streets of St. Petersburg - St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Race 1
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
St. Petersburg

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
8:45 - 9:15 AM
View Session Results
Practice 2
2:45 - 3:15 PM
View Session Results
8:45 - 9:15 AM
View Session Results
1:30 - 2:10 PM
View Session Results


Neil Alberico
Cape Motorsports
Santi Urrutia
Team Pelfrey
Florian Latorre
Cape Motorsports

Race Recap

St. Petersburg, Fla. - Neil Alberico began his sophomore campaign in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires with a dominant victory for St. Petersburg-based Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing in this afternoon's Allied Building Products Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. Alberico, from Los Gatos, Calif., qualified fastest this morning and led throughout the 23-lap race to score a resounding 4.6819-second win - his first in the series - on the challenging 1.8-mile, 14-turn street circuit.

Local teams secured a lockout of the top four positions, with Uruguayan series rookie Santiago Urrutia finishing second for Palmetto-based Team Pelfrey, and Alberico's teammate, Frenchman Florian Latorre, close behind in third with Urrutia's teammate Patricio "Pato" O'Ward fourth.

Alberico, who finished third in the 2014 title-chase, took command at the first corner and never looked back. He had built a margin of 3.4 seconds over Urrutia by Lap 12, and even though that margin was erased by a full-course caution after Malaysian Weiron Tan (Andretti Autosport) collected the wall in Turn Four. Alberico continued where he left off by edging clear once the green flag waved to commence Lap 17.

Canadian Daniel Burkett (Cape Motorsports) started second with an impressive final-lap charge in qualifying, and even though he lost a place to Urrutia on Lap 2, he still looked set for a podium finish until contact in Turn One on Lap 20 with O'Ward sent him spinning to the tail of the field.

Latorre, last year's winner of the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda and MAZDASPEED scholarship, drove an impressive race from 10th on the grid to finish on the podium, earning himself the Quartermaster Hard Charger Award.

O'Ward, the youngest driver in the field at age 15, found a way past Jose Gutierrez (Juncos Racing) for fourth place on Lap 8 and tried every which way to find a way past Burkett before the pair made contact in the braking area for Turn One with just four laps remaining. Latorre was able to slip past both of them, leaving O'Ward to fend off the attentions of Gutierrez for fourth in the final stages.

Bobby Eberle of World Speed Motorsports took Expert Class honors. Eberle, the 2014 Expert Class champion, finished 13th overall.

Contingency awards included the PFC Award to the winning car owners, Dominic and Nicholas Cape of Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, the Staubli Award to race winner Alberico and the Replay XD Move of the Race to Latorre for his pass of Raoul Owens (JDC MotorSports) in Turns One and Two on Lap 10.

Race 2 for the Allied Building Products Grand Prix of St. Petersburg will begin tomorrow, Sunday, March 29, at 9:50 am ET.


About the track

Streets of St. Petersburg

The 1.8-mile, 14-turn (5 lefts, 9 rights) circuit incorporates streets of downtown St. Petersburg and a section of runway of Albert Whitted Airport. After the long frontstretch, there's a tight right-hander into Turn 1 and then a quick left-hand turn. Plenty of drivers have gotten into trouble in these two turns over the years. There are two other long straights with heavy braking zones that afford opportunities to overtake.


Pole Position:
1:00.0658 (107.882 MPH) - Will Power (2016)

Race Lap:
1:01.8607 (104.751 MPH) - Helio Castroneves (2015)

Race Time:
2:04:32.4153 (95.351 MPH) - Sebastien Bourdais (2017, 110 Laps)

Past track winners

Rinus VeeKay (R2) / 2018
Rinus VeeKay (R1) / 2018
Anthony Martin (R2) / 2017
Anthony Martin (R1) / 2017
Aaron Telitz (R2) / 2016
Patricio O'Ward (R1) / 2016
Neil Alberico (R2) / 2015
Neil Alberico (R1) / 2015
Spencer Pigot (R2) / 2014
Spencer Pigot (R1) / 2014
Matthew Brabham (R2) / 2013
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2013
Jack Hawksworth (R2) / 2012
Connor de Phillippi (R1) / 2012
Connor de Phillippi / 2011
Conor Daly / 2010