NOLA Motorsports Park
Mazda Grand Prix of Louisiana Race 1
NOLA Motorsport Park - Avondale, LA
NOLA Motorsports Park
Mazda Grand Prix of Louisiana Race 1
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
NOLA Motorsports Park

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
9:55 - 10:25 AM
View Session Results
Practice 2
3:45 - 4:15 PM
View Session Results
11:40 - 12:10 PM
View Session Results
8:55 - 9:15 AM
View Session Results


Santi Urrutia
Team Pelfrey
Weiron Tan
Andretti Autosport
Timothe Buret
Juncos Racing

Race Recap

New Orleans, La. - Heavy thunderstorms forced a condensed schedule and then caused the second race to be canceled altogether when the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires paid its first-ever "regular" season visit to NOLA Motorsports Park for the Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Louisiana. Through it all, Uruguayan rookie Santiago Urrutia displayed an astonishing turn of pace as he took the lead at the start in the lone 20-minute race and held on to win in just his third Pro Mazda start.

The race, which was postponed from yesterday and eventually saw the green flag at 8:00 am this morning, produced a stunning performance from Urrutia, 18, who pounced on pole-sitting Malaysian Weiron Tan on the first lap, then controlled the pace to score an accomplished victory for Team Pelfrey.

Urrutia had arrived in North America this season virtually unheralded after competing in the European F3 Open and GP3 over the past few years, but he used that experience to excellent effect as he stormed into the lead on Lap One. The move earned him the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award. Tan (Andretti Autosport), who won races last year in the German Formula 3 series and led the way in one of the three Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Winterfest pre-season mini-series races at NOLA in February, was obliged to tuck in behind.

Tan kept the pressure on Urrutia in the diabolical conditions but could never quite get close enough to attempt to regain the lead and had to settle for second.

Frenchman Timothé Buret drove well for Juncos Racing to finish third ahead of Urrutia's impressive Mexican teammate Pato O'Ward, the youngest driver in the field at just 15, who set the fastest lap of the race before settling for fourth. Frenchman Florian Latorre, who won the 2014 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda and a MAZDASPEED scholarship to graduate into Pro Mazda, the next step on the acclaimed Mazda Road to Indy, qualified third for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing but slipped back to a distant fifth by the finish, ahead of teammate and championship points leader Neil Alberico.

Dalton Kellett (Andretti Autosport) claimed the Quartermaster Hard Charger Award after advancing four positions from 11th on the grid to seventh, while the PFC Award went to the winning car owner, Dale Pelfrey.

Race Two had been due to start at 11:30 but was canceled due to worsening weather conditions.

Next on the docket for the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires competitors are a pair of races, once again in support of the Verizon IndyCar Series, at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Ala., on April 24-26.


About the track

NOLA Motorsports Park

The 13-turn, 2.74-mile NOLA Motorsports was designed by Alan Wilson, whose other designs include Miller Motorsports Park and Barber Motorsports Park. It offers challenging corners and long straights to set up overtaking.

Past track winners

Santiago Urrutia / 2015