Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio Race 2
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course - Lexington, OH
The Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio Race 2
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

On-Track Schedule

8:50 - 9:40 AM
View Session Results


Neil Alberico
Cape Motorsports
Timothe Buret
Juncos Racing
Santi Urrutia
Team Pelfrey

Race Recap

Lexington, Ohio – Californian Neil Alberico kept himself in the frame for this year’s Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires by guiding his Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing entry to a comfortable victory in this morning’s Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio.

Alberico’s fourth win of the season leaves him 29 points shy of series leader Santi Urrutia, who finished third today for Team Pelfrey, in the quest for a MAZDASPEED scholarship to move up one more rung on the Mazda Road to Indy ladder into Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires in 2016.

Frenchman Timothé Buret finished second for Juncos Racing, catapulting him to third in the title chase ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Weiron Tan, who finished seventh. A total of 66 points will be available in the final two races of the 16-round season at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, Calif., on September 11-13.

For the second day in succession there was drama at the start. The drivers had been expressly warned after their conduct yesterday by Race Director Scot Elkins, so when polesitter Garett Grist accelerated before the green flag had been waved, the start was aborted and Grist’s Juncos Racing entry was sent to the back of the field.

Alberico, who had lined up second on the grid, took full advantage of the vacant pole position by leaping into the lead at the start. A series of fast laps established a gap over Buret, who had usurped Urrutia at the start, and thereafter Alberico cruised out to an advantage of 5.5 seconds before Cape Motorsports teammate Florian Latorre crashed out of sixth place in Turn 12 to ensure the 30-minute race would finish under caution.

Brazilian Victor Franzoni earned the Quartermaster Hard Charger Award, vaulting from ninth on the grid to fourth, equaling his best result in a partial season campaign for M1 Racing. The RePlay XD Move of the Race Award went to Grist, who also set the fastest lap of the race as he charged from 17th to ninth by the finish. Other contingency awards included the PFC Award to the winning car owners, Dominic and Nicholas Cape, and the Staubli Award to 11th-place finisher Alessandro Latif (World Speed Motorsports).

Latif’s teammate, Bobby Eberle, claimed the Expert class honors, for drivers over 30 years of age, from Bob Kaminsky (Kaminsky Racing), who endured some mechanical problems after being involved in an incident on the first lap. Eberle has now clinched the Expert Championship.

The Team Championship, along with top driver honors, will go down to the season finale, with Juncos Racing currently holding a 20-point advantage, 355-335, over Team Pelfrey. Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing also remain in contention on 325 points.


About the track

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

The 2.258-mile, 13-turn natural-terrain road course offers a little of everything -- elevation changes, high-speed corners, flowing corners, tight corners, a narrow (40 feet) racing ribbon and a challenging entry to pit lane.

Social Media

Twitter: @Mid_Ohio

Facebook: @MidOhioSportsCarCourse

Instagram: @officialmidohio

Official Hashtag: #Honda200

Past track winners

Rinus VeeKay (R2) / 2018
Rinus VeeKay (R1) / 2018
Anthony Martin (R3) / 2017
Victor Franzoni (R2) / 2017
Anthony Martin (R1) / 2017
Nico Jamin (R2) / 2016
Nico Jamin (R1) / 2016
Neil Alberico (R2) / 2015
Santiago Urrutia (R1) / 2015
Garett Grist (R2) / 2014
Nicolas Costa (R1) / 2014
Matthew Brabham (R2) / 2013
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2013
Ryan Justice / 2006
Raphael Matos / 2005
Guy Cosmo / 2002