Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis Race 3
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course
Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis Race 3
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Indianapolis Motor Speedway

On-Track Schedule

12:15 - 12:55 PM
View Session Results


Santi Urrutia
Team Pelfrey
Will Owen
Juncos Racing
Timothe Buret
Juncos Racing

Race Recap

Indianapolis, Ind. - Santiago "Santi" Urrutia maintained his impressive run of form for Team Pelfrey by snagging victory this afternoon in the Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis. The 18-year-old Uruguayan fought off a race-long challenge from Juncos Racing's Will Owen to claim his second win of the season by a slim margin of 1.0238 seconds after 21 laps around the 2.439-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway Grand Prix circuit.

Urrutia now holds a 24-point lead, 194-170, over today's seventh place finisher, Neil Alberico, in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires at the halfway point of the 16-race season.

Owen's teammate, Nicolas Buret, who won yesterday's race, finished third.

After the initial attempt at a start was waved off, Urrutia jumped into the lead and held off the snarling pack into Turn One. Owen, who won one of last year's Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda races on the Indianapolis road course, tucked into second place ahead of Patricio O'Ward (Team Pelfrey), up from fifth on the grid. Florian Latorre (Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing) went in the opposite direction. After starting second, Latorre found himself swallowed up by the pack and was bundled down to sixth at the end of the first green-flag lap.

Urrutia seemed to struggle with consistency during the first half of the race, but thereafter turned a series of fast laps to gradually eke out a small lead over the chasing Owen.

O'Ward, who celebrated his 16th birthday on Wednesday, couldn't quite match the leaders' pace but maintained third until Lap 14, when he braked a little too deep for Turn 12 and lost a position to Buret. Shortly afterward, on Lap 15, Jose Gutierrez, also made a move on O'Ward, earning himself the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award. O'Ward ended up fifth, under pressure in the closing stages from Cape teammates Latorre and Alberico, who had worked his way up from 10th on the grid.

Canadian Scott Hargrove, who finished second in the 2014 Pro Mazda championship and concluded a late deal to join JDC MotorSports for this weekend, earned the Quartermaster Hard Charger Award, rising six positions from 15th on the grid to ninth.

Kevin Davis (JDC MotorSports), from Alvin, Ill., claimed the Expert class honors, for drivers over 30 years of age, winning by less than two seconds over Bobby Eberle (World Speed Motorsports), who profited from a spin by Bob Kaminsky (Kaminsky Racing) with just three laps remaining.

The Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires will continue May 23 at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis with the Freedom 90, part of the #MRTI FreedomFest weekend during the lead-up to the 99th Indianapolis 500.


About the track

Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course)

The 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course incorporates portions of Turns 1 and 2 and the frontstraight of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval and the remainder of the circuit is within the infield, allowing for great spectator viewing.

Social Media

Twitter: @IMS

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Instagram: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Official Hashtag: #INDYCARGP

Past track winners

Parker Thompson (R2) / 2018
Harrison Scott (R1) / 2018
Victor Franzoni (R2) / 2017
Victor Franzoni (R1) / 2017
Pato O'Ward (R2) / 2016
Pato O'Ward (R1) / 2016
Santiago Urrutia (R3) / 2015
Timothe Buret (R2) / 2015
Weiron Tan (R1) / 2015
Scott Hargrove (R2) / 2014
Scott Hargrove (R1) / 2014