Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of Toronto Race 2
Streets of Toronto - Toronto, Ontario
Streets of Toronto
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of Toronto Race 2
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

On-Track Schedule

9:00 - 9:45 AM
View Session Results


Nico Jamin
Cape Motorsports
Jake Eidson
Pabst Racing Services
Luke Gabin
Team Pelfrey

Race Recap

TORONTO, Ontario, Canada - For the third straight Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda race, the main combatants for the victory were sophomore drivers Nico Jamin and Jake Eidson. But this time the result was more satisfying for Jamin, who had been bested by his closest championship contender, Pabst Racing's Eidson, after he started on pole in the prior two contests.     

It certainly wasn't easy for the Rouen, France native, who was able to extend his championship points lead over Eidson from nine points to 16 points. The now five-time race winner tagged the outside wall entering Turn 1 on the final green flag lap in the #2 Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing entry, but was able to hold on to the lead until the yellow flag flew for the final time.

Just before the field took the 1.755-mile, 11-Turn Exhibition Place street circuit for the Allied Building Products Grand Prix of Toronto a heavy drizzle began to fall. That precipitation left the teams scrambling to switch from slicks to the Cooper rain tires.  

The first two laps of the 30-minute timed race were chaotic with numerous off-track excursions.  Max Hanratty (ArmsUp Motorsports), Luke Gabin (Team Pelfrey), Nikita Lastochkin (Team Pelfrey), Keyvan Andres Soori, Yufeng Luo (Pabst Racing) and James Dayson (ArmsUp Motorsports) all had incidents, but only the No. 5 ArmsUp Motorsports machine of the 15-year-old Soori was unable to continue.  

Gabin, this year's winner of the Skip Barber Championship Shootout MAZDASPEED scholarship, was able to recover from an early Turn 3 spin and pilot his "Soul Red" entry to his first Mazda Road To Indy podium earning the Tilton Hard Charger award in the process for advancing three positions from his starting slot of sixth.

One of the more spirited battles took place between John Cummiskey Racing rookie Anthony Martin and Cape Motorsports sophomore Aaron Telitz for fourth. The two drivers traded that position three times during a seven-lap span with Martin solidifying the spot in the end. 

Parker Thompson, one of two Canadians in the field, had an up-and-down-day. The Red Deer, Alberta native started the race at the back of the field and raced his No. 80 JDC Motorsports machine all the way to fifth by Lap 5. Unfortunately, the 17-year-old found the Turn 3 run-off on Lap 8 and was finally forced to retire after tagging the wall on Lap 12. He was credited with the RePlay XD Move the of Race Award for his series of passes on the opening lap.

The race ended a few minutes early after 15 laps and under yellow due to weather conditions.  

Additional contingency awards included the PFC Award to the winning team of Cape Motorsports, and the Staubli Award to Lastochkin.

The Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda will be back on track July 31-August 2 when the closely contested championship heads to the 2.258 mile, 13-turn road course at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for the lone triple-header of the season. 


About the track

Streets of Toronto

The tight 11-turn, 1.786-mile Exhibition Place street circuit offers great views of downtown Toronto and often leads to cars attempting to squeeze past each other in turns. Many times, only one car makes it out unscathed. The long frontstretch leading into the Prince's Gate at Turn 1 and the Lakeshore Boulevard straight leading into a hard 90-degree right-hander at Turn 3 are the best places for overtaking.

Social Media

Twitter: @hondaindy

Facebook: @hondaindytoronto

Instagram: @hondaindy

Official Hashtag: #IndyTO

Past track winners

Parker Thompson (R2) / 2017
Parker Thompson (R1) / 2017
Parker Thompson (R2) / 2016
Anthony Martin (R1) / 2016
Nico Jamin (R2) / 2015
Jake Eidson (R1) / 2015
Florian Latorre (R2) / 2014
Jake Eidson (R1) / 2014
Danilo Estrela (R2) / 2013
Neil Alberico (R1) / 2013