Barber Motorsports Park
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Alabama Race 2
Barber Motorsports Park - Birmingham, AL
Barber Motorsports Park
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Alabama Race 2
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Barber Motorsports Park

On-Track Schedule

6:20 - 7:00 PM
View Session Results


Nico Jamin
Cape Motorsports
Anthony Martin
John Cummiskey Racing
Jake Eidson
Pabst Racing Services

Race Recap

Birmingham, Ala. - Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing maintained its mastery of the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda, sweeping both of this weekend's races for the Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park. Yesterday it was American Aaron Telitz who led the way in the dry, but today, in extremely wet conditions, teammate Nico Jamin, from Rouen, France, was the dominant force.

Australian rookie Anthony Martin also drove an impressive race for John Cummiskey Racing with a late pass on championship leader Jake Eidson (Pabst Racing) to take second place and secure his first-ever podium finish.

This evening's 30-minute race was delayed by thunderstorms, but that was of little consequence to Jamin, 19, who made it look easy as he romped clear from the start and pulled away with every lap. Even though his advantage twice was slashed to nothing by full-course cautions due to a couple of cars sliding off the road and being stranded in the gravel, Jamin remained unflustered. He even found time to reset fastest lap of the race in a green/white-checkered one-lap dash to the finish. His eventual margin of victory was 1.1751 seconds.

Martin, from Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, was the day's biggest mover, securing the Tilton Hard Charger Award for advancing four positions during the race from sixth on the grid. He also took home the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award for the manner in which he passed Victor Franzoni for third place on Lap Six.

Eidson took his fourth successive third-place finish after winning the opening two rounds in  St. Petersburg, Fla., but his championship lead now has been trimmed to just 11 points, 152-141, over Jamin. Yesterday's winner Telitz is now a further 10 points back in third.

Franzoni ran third in the early stages for Afterburner Autosport and was expected to be a strong challenger for the victory after leading the way in similarly wet conditions two weeks ago at NOLA Motorsports Park, but the Brazilian struggled to match the leading pace on this occasion and could manage only fourth ahead of Telitz. Franzoni's car was later disqualified for violating Rule 14.1(a) in post-race technical inspection.

Subsequently, Canadian Parker Thompson finished fifth for JDC MotorSports, followed by China's Yufeng Luo (Pabst Racing), Germany's Keyvan Andres Soori (ArmsUp Motorsports), Russian Nikita Lastochkin (Team Pelfrey) and Max Hanratty, who earned his top-10 finish for ArmsUp Motorsports.

Additional contingency awards included the PFC Award to the winning car owners, Dominic and Nicholas Cape, while the Staubli Award went to Thompson.

The Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda will continue with another pair of races run in support of the Verizon IndyCar Series - and all three steps on the Mazda Road to Indy ladder system - at the Grand Prix of Indianapolis on May 7-9.


About the track

Barber Motorsports Park

The 2.38-mile permanent road course has 17 flowing turns and features 80 feet of elevation change that challenge drivers and engineers. A 45-foot-wide racing ribbon also makes it imperative for patience while setting up overtaking opportunities.

Social Media

Twitter: @BarberMotorPark

Facebook: @BarberMotorsportsPark

Instagram: @barbermotorpark

Official Hashtag: #HIGPA

Past track winners

Oliver Askew (R2) / 2017
Oliver Askew (R1) / 2017
Parker Thompson (R2) / 2016
Parker Thompson (R1) / 2016
Nico Jamin (R2) / 2015
Aaron Telitz (R1) / 2015
RC Enerson (R2) / 2014
RC Enerson (R1) / 2014