Barber Motorsports Park
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Alabama Race 1
Barber Motorsports Park - Birmingham, AL
Barber Motorsports Park
Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Alabama Race 1
Race Complete
Network To Be Announced
Barber Motorsports Park

On-Track Schedule

1:10 - 1:40 PM
View Session Results
3:30 - 4:00 PM
View Session Results
7:10 - 7:55 PM
View Session Results


Aaron Telitz
Cape Motorsports
Victor Franzoni
Afterburner Autosport
Jake Eidson
Pabst Racing Services

Race Recap

Birmingham, Ala. - Aaron Telitz produced a stunning performance this evening at Barber Motorsports Park to earn victory in the first of two Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda races that will comprise this weekend's Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Alabama.

Victor Franzoni finished second for Afterburner Autosport after leading most of the race, while Jake Edison extended his championship lead to 18 points, 130-118 over Telitz, after taking third for Pabst Racing.

Telitz, from Birchwood, Wis., started fourth and moved up one place on the opening lap when teammate Nico Jamin tangled with Franzoni in Turn Two. The pole-winner came off worst as his Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing Van Diemen-Mazda ended up in the gravel and out of the race. Telitz then ran third for the majority of the 20-lap, 30-minute contest, in the wheel tracks of Franzoni and Eidson.

Telitz made his first impressive move on Lap 18, diving to inside of Eidson under braking for Turn Five to move into second place. One lap later he pulled off an even more audacious maneuver by pulling alongside Brazilian rival Franzoni under braking for the same turn - this time on the unfavored outside line. To his credit, Franzoni kept it clean and Telitz kept his nerve to take the lead and edge away over the final two laps to earn his first win of the season. The victory brought welcome redemption after losing the lead just two weeks ago at NOLA Motorsports park due to a drive-shaft failure. Telitz also secured the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award.

Luke Gabin, who graduated to USF2000 after winning last year's Skip Barber Championship Shootout and a MAZDASPEED scholarship, ran a strong fourth for Team Pelfrey in the early stages before an off-course excursion led to a broken nosecone. Australian Anthony Martin (John Cummiskey Racing) profited to claim fourth for the third time this season, while Canadian Parker Thompson finished fifth for JDC MotorSports.

The PFC Award went to the winning car owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape of Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, and the Staubli Award to Martin.

The sixth round of the 16-race season and the second leg of the Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Alabama will start tomorrow at 5:20 p.m. Central Daylight Time. Live timing and commentary for all sessions will be available on the new Mazda Road to Indy App and at


About the track

Barber Motorsports Park

The 2.38-mile permanent road course has 17 flowing turns and features 80 feet of elevation change that challenge drivers and engineers. A 45-foot-wide racing ribbon also makes it imperative for patience while setting up overtaking opportunities.

Social Media

Twitter: @BarberMotorPark

Facebook: @BarberMotorsportsPark

Instagram: @barbermotorpark

Official Hashtag: #HIGPA

Past track winners

Oliver Askew (R2) / 2017
Oliver Askew (R1) / 2017
Parker Thompson (R2) / 2016
Parker Thompson (R1) / 2016
Nico Jamin (R2) / 2015
Aaron Telitz (R1) / 2015
RC Enerson (R2) / 2014
RC Enerson (R1) / 2014