Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix Race 1
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course - Lexington, OH
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix Race 1
Race Complete
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

On-Track Schedule

9:15 - 9:45 AM
View Session Results
12:30 - 1:00 PM
View Session Results
5:35 - 6:15 PM
View Session Results


Nicolas Costa
Team Pelfrey
Ryan Booth
JDC Motorsports
Shelby Blackstock
Andretti Autosport

Race Recap

Lexington, Ohio - Nicolas Costa overcame a severe bout of stomach cramps to score a finely judged victory in this evening's Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Round 10 of the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires. The 22-year-old Brazilian fell ill last night, after claiming his first pole position yesterday for Team Pelfrey, and didn't even arrive at the track until shortly before the race as he attempted to overcome his affliction.

It was the first-ever Pro Mazda win for Costa, who rejoined the Florida-based team in May at Lucas Oil Raceway after a partial campaign in 2013.

The race was interrupted by a full-course caution soon after the start due to a couple of separate incidents, but not before there had been some shuffling toward the front of the field. Costa had maintained his advantage over fellow front row starter Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing), but behind them Ryan Booth made a sensational getaway for JDC MotorSports, rising from sixth on the grid to third ahead of the Andretti Autosport pair of Garett Grist and Shelby Blackstock, then series points leader Spencer Pigot (Juncos Racing), who made up a couple of positions from a disappointing eighth on the grid.

The restart saw Costa remain in charge from Kaiser and Booth as Blackstock snuck past Grist for fourth.

Another full-course caution set up a five-lap dash to the checkered flag during which Costa resisted a strong challenge not from the unfortunate Kaiser, who abruptly slowed during the caution (before rejoining at the back of the field), but from Booth, who continued his steady improvement and finally finished just 0.3458 seconds in arrears. It was the second podium of the season for Costa and the first for Booth.

Blackstock finished third ahead of Pigot, who extended his series lead to 21 points over Scott Hargrove. The winner of last year's Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda finished sixth after a race-long battle with Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing teammate Neil Alberico. Pigot's young Mexican teammate, Jose Gutierrez, also ran well, finishing fifth after starting on the second row of the grid.

Bobby Eberle (World Speed Motorsports) comfortably won the Expert division, for drivers over age 30, and thereby took over the points lead from Jay Horak (M1 Racing), who pulled off course after 10 laps.

Booth snared the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award for his overtaking maneuvers at the beginning of the race. Kyle Connery (JDC MotorSports) claimed the Quarter Master Hard Charger Award after rising from 19th on the grid to 11th. Additional contingency awards included the PFC Award and customized Race Energy charger - the official battery of the ladder series - to the winning team, Team Pelfrey; and the Staubli Award to Dalton Kellett of Team Pelfrey.


About the track

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

The 2.258-mile, 13-turn natural-terrain road course offers a little of everything -- elevation changes, high-speed corners, flowing corners, tight corners, a narrow (40 feet) racing ribbon and a challenging entry to pit lane.

Social Media

Twitter: @Mid_Ohio

Facebook: @MidOhioSportsCarCourse

Instagram: @officialmidohio

Official Hashtag: #Honda200

Past track winners

Anthony Martin (R3) / 2017
Victor Franzoni (R2) / 2017
Anthony Martin (R1) / 2017
Nico Jamin (R2) / 2016
Nico Jamin (R1) / 2016
Neil Alberico (R2) / 2015
Santiago Urrutia (R1) / 2015
Garett Grist (R2) / 2014
Nicolas Costa (R1) / 2014
Matthew Brabham (R2) / 2013
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2013
Ryan Justice / 2006
Raphael Matos / 2005
Guy Cosmo / 2002