Grand Prix of Houston
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of Houston Race 2
Streets of Houston - NRG Park - Houston, TX
Houston NRG Park
Allied Building Products Grand Prix of Houston Race 2
Race Complete
Grand Prix of Houston
Houston - NRG Park
About the track

A 1.7-mile, 10-turn street circuit that incorporates Houston landmarks NRG Stadium, the Astrodome and NRG Arena. Scott Dixon and Will Power took the wins in the inaugural doubleheader race.

Race Review

Houston, Texas - Spencer Pigot bounced back from a series of misfortunes to score a commanding victory in today's second leg of the Allied Building Products Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Houston Presented by Marlin CNG Services. Starting second on the grid, Pigot, 20, from Orlando, Fla., made an explosive start, then dived to the inside of polesitter Garett Grist under braking for the tight chicane at Turn Two on the unforgiving 1.7-mile MD Anderson Cancer Center Speedway at NRG Park. He remained under pressure from fellow American Neil Alberico for the first dozen or so laps, then edged clear to win the 30-lap race by almost four seconds.

The victory, Pigot's fifth of the season for Juncos Racing, moved him back into the lead of the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires after yesterday's winner, Scott Hargrove, exited the race on the first lap following an incident in Turn Three. The result also enabled Juncos Racing to move back into the lead of the Team Championship with five rounds remaining in the 14-race season.

After Pigot's move for the lead on the opening lap stacked up the field, Hargrove thought he saw an opportunity to take second place at Turn Three. Unfortunately, his lunge to the inside resulted in heavy side-to-side contact with Grist, who was assessed a penalty shortly afterward for avoidable contact. Hargrove's Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing entry reared up onto two wheels before crashing back to earth and out of the race.

Fellow Canadian Grist (Andretti Autosport) was able to continue in third, but only for a couple of laps before pitting to serve his drive-through penalty. He resumed in 15th and thereafter drove well to claim ninth at the finish of the all-green race held in exhaustingly hot and humid conditions.

Alberico (Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing), who had been taken out on the second lap of yesterday's race, profited from the early drama today to move from sixth on the grid to second, where he remained until the finish. Alberico posted the fastest race lap - a new track record - for good measure.

Grist's teammate, Shelby Blackstock, couldn't match the leaders' pace in third and remained under intense pressure for almost the entire distance from Ryan Booth (JDC MotorSports) until the latter's rear wing mounting failed in the closing stages. Booth somehow managed to hold onto fourth ahead of a fast-closing Nicolas Costa (Team Pelfrey), who charged back through the field after narrowly avoiding two separate incidents on the first lap and falling to the tail of the field. Costa also claimed the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award for his pass on both teammate Dalton Kellett and local driver Clark Toppe (JDC MotorSports), who posted a fine drive in only his second Pro Mazda start, in Turn 10 with six laps remaining.

Blackstock claimed the Quarter Master Hard Charger Award after rising from 10th on the grid to third. Additional contingency awards included the PFC Award and customized Race Energy charger - the official battery of the ladder series - to the winning team, Juncos Racing; and the Staubli Award to Booth.

Pigot, after losing the series points lead yesterday, now holds a 17-point advantage, 225-208, as the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires moves on to the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for Rounds 10 and 11, once again in conjunction with the Verizon IndyCar Series, on August 2/3.
Top Three Positions
Spencer Pigot
Juncos Racing
Neil Alberico
Cape Motorsports
Shelby Blackstock
Andretti Autosport
Past track winners
Spencer Pigot (R2) / 2014
Scott Hargrove (R1) / 2014
Matthew Brabham (R2) / 2013
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2013
Dane Cameron / 2007
Daniel Herrington / 2006