The Milwaukee Mile
Milwaukee Mile 100
Race Complete

On-Track Schedule

Practice 1
10:00 - 10:45 AM
View Session Results
Practice 2
1:30 - 2:15 PM
View Session Results
5:05 - 5:45 PM
View Session Results
1:00 - 1:50 PM
View Session Results


Zach Veach
Andretti Autosport
Matt Brabham
Andretti Autosport
Gabby Chaves
Belardi Auto Racing

Race Recap

West Allis, Wis. - An enthralling battle for this year's Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires title honors tightened considerably as a result of an opportunistic victory in today's Milwaukee Mile 100 by Zach Veach. The 19-year-old from Stockdale, Ohio seemed set to finish second to Andretti Autosport teammate Matthew Brabham, who passed him for the lead on Lap 40 and edged clear, only for Veach to be handed a lifeline when Brazilian rookie Luiz Razia crashed out of fourth place with eight laps remaining.

Veach, who started from the pole in the #26 RePLAY XD/The Young Marines/Ads IT Solutions/ Zakosi Data Back Up Dallara and led comfortably in the early stages, knew full well the restart would provide his best and perhaps only opportunity to redress the balance. He grasped it with both hands. When Brabham defended to the inside on the entry to Turn One at the restart with just four laps remaining, Veach stuck to his guns, rode around the outside and completed the pass on the exit of Turn Two leading onto the back straightaway. The pass earned Veach the RePlay XD Move of the race. 

The maneuver held huge championship implications. Without it, Veach would have trailed series leader Gabby Chaves - who finished third for Belardi Auto Racing - by 17 points with just two races remaining. By completing the pass and securing his third win of the season - and first since Barber Motorsports Park in April - Veach has now moved within seven points (466-459) going into the final double-header on the road course at Sonoma Raceway in California.

The two Andretti cars were effectively in a race of their own as series leader Chaves struggled with a general lack of grip. The Colombian-American withstood pressure from Razia virtually throughout the 100-lap race until Razia abruptly lost control and crashed in Turn Two.

Rookie Scott Anderson, who had been closing on the pair, profited from Razia's misfortune to earn his best finish thus far, fourth, for Fan Force United, while the other title hopeful, Englishman Jack Harvey, was close behind in fifth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian. Harvey lies third in the championship on 443 points.

The Team Championship also is finely poised with a 1-2 finish hauling Andretti Autosport to within nine points of SPM with Curb-Agajanian, 332-223. Belardi Auto Racing also remains in contention on 309 points.

Contingency awards included a customized Race Energy BCM21 charger - the official battery of the ladder series - to the winning team of Andretti Autosport.


About the track

The Milwaukee Mile

The one-mile oval drives more like a road course because of the 9-degree banking in the turns, which produces exciting racing. Drivers can't go flat out on the course, which creates overtaking opportunities in the turns as well as the straights. The Mile opened in 1903 and little has changed to the configuration.

Past track winners

Felix Serralles / 2015
Zach Veach / 2014
Sage Karam / 2013
Tristan Vautier / 2012
Esteban Guerrieri / 2011
Mario Romancini / 2009
Bobby Wilson / 2008
Alex Lloyd / 2007
Jaime Camara / 2006
Jeff Simmons / 2005
Paul Dana / 2004
Townsend Bell / 2001
Scott Dixon / 2000
Derek Higgins / 1999
Derek Higgins / 1998
Clint Mears / 1997
Mark Hotchkis / 1996
Greg Moore / 1995
Steve Robertson / 1994
Bryan Herta / 1993
Adrian Fernandez / 1992
Robbie Groff / 1991
Paul Tracy / 1990
Mike Groff / 1989
Dave Simpson / 1988
Didier Theys / 1987
Mike Groff / 1986