Grand Prix of Indianapolis 2014
Grand Prix Of Indianapolis Race 2
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course
Grand Prix Of Indianapolis Race 2
Race Complete
Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course)
About the track

The 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course incorporates portions of Turns 1 and 2 and the frontstraight of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval and the remainder of the circuit is within the infield, allowing for great spectator viewing.

Social Media

Twitter: @IMS

Facebook: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Instagram: @IndianapolisMotorSpeedway

Official Hashtag: #INDYCARGP

Race Review

Speedway, Ind. - After taking a little time to get to grips with his new surroundings, Brazilian Luiz Razia drove an exemplary race under constant pressure in today's Grand Prix of Indianapolis to score his first victory in Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires. It was also the first win of the year for four-time defending champion team Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian.

Fellow Indy Lights rookie Jack Harvey, from England, never allowed his teammate to relax, shadowing his every move throughout the 40-lap race at the challenging 2.439-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course to finished just 0.6414 seconds back in second place. Alex Baron (Belardi Auto Racing) narrowly prevailed over yesterday's first-time winner, Matthew Brabham (Andretti Autosport), for the final podium place.

After the first attempt at a start was waved off and then an early caution period due to an incident between Juan Piedrahita (Schmidt Peterson) and Zack Meyer (Team Moore Racing), Razia just managed to fend off an attack from Harvey at Turn One. It was to set the tone for the remainder of the race. Behind, too, there was action as Andretti teammates Brabham and championship leader Zach Veach tangled wheels not once but twice within the first few laps.

When the dust had settled from the early skirmishes, Razia, from Barreiras, Brazil, and Harvey, from Bassingham, England, continued to circulate within a few car lengths of each other. Belardi teammates Baron and Gabby Chaves were a second or so farther behind, chased by Scott Anderson who made a fine start for Fan Force United to move into the top five. Brabham and Veach were hot on his heels, too.

Veach overtook Brabham for sixth on lap 13, only for Brabham to return the favor on Lap 20. Three laps later, Brabham also slipped past Anderson, then homed in swiftly on the two Belardi cars. Chaves was Brabham's next victim, on lap 32. Brabham set the fastest lap of the race with just two laps remaining but Baron just managed to hold onto his podium placing.

Veach also was on the move in the closing stages. He passed Anderson at Turn One on Lap 35, but tangled with Chaves while attempting an outside-line pass at the same place just a couple of laps later. Anderson took advantage, slipping past both of the title rivals to finish a career-high fifth, followed by Juan Pablo Garcia (Schmidt Peterson), then Veach and Chaves.

The RePlay XD Move of the Race Award went to Brabham for his Turn 1 pass on Chaves after the green flag.

Additional contingency awards included a customized Race Energy BCM21 charger - the official battery of the ladder series - to the winning team, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

The championship is now finely poised, with Razia moving to within five points of Veach's championship points lead, 229-224. 
Top Three Positions
Luiz Razia
SPM with Curb-Agajanian
Jack Harvey
SPM with Curb-Agajanian
Alex Baron
Belardi Auto Racing
Past track winners
Colton Herta (R2) / 2018
Colton Herta (R1) / 2018
Kyle Kaiser (R2) / 2017
Nico Jamin (R1) / 2017
Dean Stoneman (R2) / 2016
Ed Jones (R1) / 2016
Sean Rayhall (R2) / 2015
Jack Harvey (R1) / 2015
Luiz Razia (R2) / 2014
Matthew Brabham (R1) / 2014