Edmonton Indy
Edmonton Indy
Edmonton City Centre Airport - Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton City Centre Airport
Edmonton Indy
Race Complete


Helio Castroneves
Team Penske
Takuma Sato
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Will Power
Team Penske

Race Recap

Does this victory in the Edmonton Indy make up for 2010, Helio?

"It's fantastic," he said. "I think this place owed us a little bit."

Any victory at the same venue massages past results, and Helio Castroneves' win on the 2.224-mile, 13-turn City Centre Airport circuit was celebrated with his usual exuberant fence climb much to the delight of the throng of spectators in the Turn 1 grandstand.

Castroneves held off Takuma Sato by .8367 of a second to win the caution-free, 75-lap race. Teammate Will Power, who started 17th because of a 10-grid spot penalty for an unapproved engine change, charged to third and Graham Rahal tied his road/street course best finish of the season in fourth. Alex Tagliani, who led a field-high 49 laps after starting fourth, finished fifth.

Team Penske has won three of the five races at the airport track under INDYCAR sanction.

"It’s a credit to the team, obviously, when you see the competitive edge that’s out there with Takuma and all of the other drivers," team owner Roger Penske said. "You can’t make a mistake. The fuel economy was important. Today the Chevy engines ran great. I take my hat off to Helio. When they run that close for that many laps, I’ve got to take my hat off."

Castroneves gained one position in the championship standings with his 27th Indy car victory (second of the season) -- 23 points behind Ryan Hunter-Reay, who finished seventh. Power is third in the standings (26 points back) heading to the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio on Aug. 5.

"We never relaxed, to be honest, especially with Takuma right behind me," Castroneves said. "But it was a great battle for me, it was comfortable. And I was on it, I definitely was on it. Starting the race on the black Firestone tires was a great strategy for us. Then we kept on with the reds (alternates) for the last two stints, and from there on the reds were just getting better and better. For me, the car setup was good for the blacks and the reds basically helped me out to carry this win."

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the Edmonton Indy

About the track

Edmonton City Centre Airport

The 2.256-mile, 13-turn circuit that incorporates a section of airport runway again will challenge drivers and provide lots of action for spectators.

The 90-degree first turn is augmented by a pair of hairpins at the north and south ends of the course. There also are two long straights for drag racing. The layout was new for the July 2011 race.
Edmonton City Centre Airport has played host to an Indy car race since 2005, with Scott Dixon, Will Power and Sebastien Bourdais winning twice.

Past track winners

Helio Castroneves 2012
Will Power 2011
Scott Dixon 2010
Will Power 2009
Scott Dixon 2008
Sebastien Bourdais 2007
Justin Wilson 2006
Sebastien Bourdais 2005