Honda Indy Toronto
Streets of Toronto
Streets of Toronto - Toronto, Ontario
Streets of Toronto
Streets of Toronto
Race Complete


Gustavo Yacaman
Team Moore Racing
Sebastian Saavedra
AFS Racing/Andretti Autosport
Victor Carbone
Sam Schmidt Motorsports

Race Recap

Gustavo Yacaman and Sebastian Saavedra used to battle on go-kart tracks in their native Colombia. A decade later, the Firestone Indy Lights drivers battled for the victory on the streets of Exhibition Place.

This time it was Yacaman who prevailed in the Toronto 100 by 2.2874 seconds over Saavedra, who made the biggest move in the field from the eighth qualifying position to second. It was the second victory of the season for Yacaman, driving the No. 2 TMR-Tuvacol-Xtreme Coil Drilling car, and his third in the past two seasons.

"I was lucky to stay out of trouble and I got hit from behind and got bounced around but nothing happened to me or my car," said Yacaman, who placed third at Toronto the past two years.  "I was really happy with how the race went and when I got to the front I knew I had a winning car. We had some gearbox issues but still stayed in first position even though Sebastian Saavedra was right behind me the whole way."

Pole sitter Victor Carbone finished third, Peter Dempsey (in his first race with Belardi Auto Racing) posted a season best of fourth and Oliver Webb finished fifth. 

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the Firestone Indy Lights race from the Streets of Toronto

NBC Sports Network Broadcast: Thursday, July 12, 2012 at 5:00pm Eastern

About the track

Streets of Toronto

The tight 11-turn, 1.786-mile Exhibition Place street circuit offers great views of downtown Toronto and often leads to cars attempting to squeeze past each other in turns. Many times, only one car makes it out unscathed. The long frontstretch leading into the Prince's Gate at Turn 1 and the Lakeshore Boulevard straight leading into a hard 90-degree right-hander at Turn 3 are the best places for overtaking.

Social Media

Twitter: @hondaindy

Facebook: @hondaindytoronto

Instagram: @hondaindy

Official Hashtag: #IndyTO

Past track winners

Santi Urrutia (R2) / 2018
Patricio O'Ward (R1) / 2018
Kyle Kaiser (R2) / 2017
Kyle Kaiser (R1) / 2017
Felix Rosenqvist (R2) / 2016
Felix Rosenqvist (R1) / 2016
Spencer Pigot (R2) / 2015
Spencer Pigot (R1) / 2015
Alex Baron / 2014
Jack Hawksworth / 2013
Gustavo Yacaman / 2012
Stefan Wilson / 2011
JK Vernay / 2010
Sebastian Saavedra / 2009
Townsend Bell / 2001
Geoff Boss / 1999
Guy Smith / 1998
Helio Castroneves / 1997
Gualter Salles / 1996
Greg Moore / 1995
Steve Robertson / 1994
Bryan Herta / 1993
Bryan Herta / 1992
PJ Jones / 1991
Paul Tracy / 1990
Gary Rubio / 1989
Calvin Fish / 1988
Tommy Byrne / 1987
Fabrizio Barbazza / 1986