ALex Tagliani

Alex Tagliani, the 2009 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year and the first Canadian to start on the pole for the 500 Mile Race, will join four others Oct. 17 as inductees into the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame.

“Tag,” of Montreal, was selected as one of the drivers to be part of the Player’s program and joined its Formula Atlantic team in 1997. He moved up to Champ Car in 2000 and has made 203 career Indy car starts, most recently in the 99th Indianapolis 500 Mile Race in May for AJ Foyt Racing.

“Definitely an honor. Need to get my wedding suit out of the closet for that one,” Tagliani said.

In June, Tagliani lapped the field in winning the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series race at Sunset Speedway in Oregon. On Aug. 15, he will drive a Ford Mustang for Team Penske in the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Other inductees are Riverside Speedway (Nova Scotia) founder John Chisholm, car builder Ralph Luciw and seven-time Canadian stock car champion Don Thomson Jr. Sir Jackie Stewart will be inducted in the International Category.

More Canadian news

Canadian rockers The Guess Who will perform a live concert Aug. 22 at Pocono Raceway’s Infield Block Party as part of the Verizon IndyCar Series race weekend.

The Infield Block Party will feature multiple activities for all ages, food and beverage vendors and more. Visit for tickets and information.

First wins for Herta

Colton Herta, son of Verizon IndyCar Series team owner Bryan Herta, won his first two races of the MSA Formula season at Snetterton over the weekend (photo below).

“We’ve shown all season we have the speed but it has all come together now,” said Herta, 15, who drives for Carlin.

Of note

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing co-owner Bobby Rahal will co-drive a 1974 Porsche 911 in the Classic 24 Hour at Daytona in November at Daytona International Speedway. … Sam Chastain, 22, of Noblesville, Ind., who competes in the F2000 Championship Series, is among 12 candidates for the 25th Team USA Scholarships. Six finalists will progress to a shootout in September at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif. Two winners will be invited to represent the U.S. in the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch and the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone in England. Verizon IndyCar Series team co-owner Jimmy Vasser was the first scholarship winner.

Colton Herta