Iowa Speedway

Iowa Corn Indy 300 presented by DEKALB

Click it: Qualifying results || Tickets and track info

TV: NBCSN telecasts the race live (8 p.m. ET); green flag at 8:30. ... Leigh Diffey is the chief announcer with Paul Tracy and David Hobbs the analysts.

Radio/web: Race is broadcast on IMS Radio Network affiliates, XM 209 and Sirius 213. It's also on and the INDYCAR 14 app in conjunction with real-time Timing & Scoring. Paul Page is the chief announcer.

Twitter: @iowaspeedway, @IndyCar, #IowaCorn300

Race laps: 300 in counterclockwise direction on the .894-mile oval as measured by INDCYAR Timing & Scoring (12-14 degrees of banking in the turns, frontstretch of 1,075 feet) … 50 laps were added for the 2014 race.

Start: Two-wide start based on qualifications results … single-file restarts.

Tires: Firestone provided the same tire construction that was used in Iowa in 2013. The right-side tires are the same construction used at Texas Motor Speedway and Auto Club Speedway (superspeedway right side with a softer compound left-side tire).

Fuel: 70 U.S. gallons of E85 ... Verizon IndyCar Series cars carry 18.5 U.S. gallons.

Engines: 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V6s supplied by Chevrolet and Honda ... 140 kPa turbo boost for oval race. Chevrolet has six victories and Honda has five this season.

Aerodynamics: Short oval specifications -- rear wing mainplane angle of 0 degrees +/- .50 degree and rear wing flap angle of 34 degrees maximum. A rear wing wicker is optional, as are front brake backing plates and an underwing strake.

Dixon starts from pole: Scott Dixon, driving the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car, earned the Verizon P1 Award July 11 with a two-lap track record average speed of 186.256 mph. It was his first of the season and the ninth different pole winner in the 12 races. ... No driver has won the Iowa race from the pole. ... There have been eight different race winners this season.

"I'm excited for the race. Iowa is a fun track and we have never really had good luck here," the reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion said. "We've had some great cars and had some great finishes, but hopefully we can put on a fantastic race for the fans that is number one on the priority list and obviously try and win it for us."

Race notes: Helio Castroneves, who enters the 300-lap race tied with Team Penske teammate Will Power atop the championship standings, set the one-lap track record (186.809 mph) on his second qualifying lap (two-lap average of 185.685 mph) and will join Ryan Briscoe (185.339 mph) on Row 2. Power, battling bronchitis this weekend, qualified ninth in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car. ... Andretti Autosport has won five of the seven Verizon IndyCar Series races at Iowa Speedway, including the past four (Hinchcliffe, Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Kanaan). … Five drivers are making their Verizon IndyCar Series debut at Iowa Speedway (rookies Mikhail Aleshin, Carlos Huertas, Jack Hawksworth and Carlos Munoz, plus Juan Pablo Montoya). Montoya, who earned his first Indy car victory since September 2000 at Pocono Raceway on July 6, competed in an ARCA race on the oval in 2006. Munoz and Hawksworth competed in Indy Lights at the track in 2013. ... The Verizon IndyCar Series has raced at Iowa Speedway since June 2007 -- the year after the racetrack opened. The Iowa Corn Promotion Board and the Iowa Corn Growers Association, which has been the title sponsor of each race, recently extended its sponsorship through 2015. ... Bob Bowman, president of the Iowa Corn Promotional Board, will give the command to start engines.

2013: James Hinchcliffe won the in the No. 27 Andretti Autosport car, leading 226 of the 250 laps after starting second. It was his third victory of the season. Teammate Ryan Hunter-Reay was runner-up and Tony Kanaan was third. ... Ed Carpenter posted the fastest race lap in 2013 (17.9744 seconds; 179.055 mph).