Ryan Hunter-Reay

The annual Tag Heuer Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge will feature 12 drivers and their teams competing for bragging rights and a first place prize of $50,000 during Coors Light Carb Day on May 23 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The competition will begin at 2 p.m. on pit lane, featuring four rounds of action. Teams will change four tires and perform a simulated fuel hookup during each round of the competition. The quickest time wins, with time penalties added for various infractions, such as loose wheel nuts or running over air hoses.

NBCSN will televise the event live as part of its Coors Light Carb Day coverage that starts at 11 a.m.

Last year’s final round featured the crews of three-time Indianapolis 500 winners Helio Castroneves and Dario Franchitti. Castroneves was the last driver to win the Pit Stop Challenge and the Indianapolis 500 in the same year (2009).

The Verizon IndyCar Series teams competing:

Car .... Driver /Entrant
2 .... Juan Pablo Montoya / Penske Motorsports
3 .... Helio Castroneves / Team Penske
8 .... Ryan Briscoe / NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing
9 .... Scott Dixon / Target Chip Ganassi Racing
10 .... Tony Kanaan / Target Chip Ganassi Racing
12 .... Will Power / Team Penske
14 .... Takuma Sato / A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15 .... Graham Rahal / Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
22 .... Sage Karam / Dreyer and Reinbold – Kingdom Racing
28 .... Ryan Hunter-Reay / Andretti Autosport
77 .... Simon Pagenaud / Schmidt Peterson Hamilton
83 .... Charlie Kimball / Chip Ganassi Racing Teams