Scott Dixon and Helio Castroneves

IndyCar Series drivers Scott Dixon and Helio Castroneves and 2013 Indy Lights champion Sage Karam have been selected to the 2013 American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association's All-America team.

Dixon, who claimed his third IndyCar Series championship for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, and Castroneves, who finished second in the standings for Team Penske, were the top vote-getters in the Open Wheel division. Ryan Hunter-Reay, the 2012 series champion of Andretti Autosport, and Will Power of Team Penske were named to the second team.

Karam was honored as one of the two top vote-getters in the At Large category, while Andretti Autosport’s Carlos Munoz was voted the Rising Star award after success in both Indy Lights and a second-place finish in the Indianapolis 500.

Founded in 1955 AARWBA is a motorsports organization comprised of writers, broadcasters, photographers and other media-related professionals. The organization's charter is aimed at providing not only proper recognition for members of the motorsports media, but to recognize their work as well as the work of the competitors that they follow in print, on the air, and on film.

Of note

Fort Wayne, Ind.-based Alfe Heat Treating returns for the fourth consecutive year as a major associate sponsor of A.J. Foyt Racing. "We feel INDYCAR is a great way to present Alfe Heat Treating to the public and show our customers we have a solid relationship to the automotive industry, as well as give our employees something to relate to, look forward to, and enjoy away from the work week," said Kurt Westman, president and founder of one of the nation's largest heat treating services company. ... Shinola, known for its watches handcrafted in Detroit, bicycles, journals and leather goods, returns as a sponsor of the May 30-June 1 Chevrolet Detroit Belle Grand Prix and serve as the Official Timepiece and Timekeeper.