Montoya Karting Event - Carrera de Estrellas

Winning the race was great, but knowing that the Race of Stars karting event in Medellin, Colombia, last weekend would benefit children was paramount to Helio Castroneves.

The IZOD IndyCar Series championship runner-up won the night race of Team Penske teammate Juan Pablo Montoya's annual event that benefits the Formula Smiles Foundation. The organization, which seeks to improve the quality of life of children in Colombia, was founded in 2003 by Montoya and his wife Connie.

Carlos Munoz, Gabby Chaves, Sebastian Saavedra and Gustavo Yacaman also competed.

Chaves placed third in the night race, followed by Montoya, who was racing in Team Penske colors for the first time. Check out the race video below. GP2 Series racer Julian Leal won the first race.

Kanaan teams to win karting event

Reigning Indianapolis 500 champion Tony Kanaan teamed with Rubens Barrichello, Felipe Giaffone, Rafael Suzuki and Gaetano di Mauro to win the 500 Milhas de Beto Carrero in Brazil last weekend.

It's the ninth win overall for Kanaan and Barrichello in the event, which was formerly known as the Granja Viana 500.

“Two 500 miles races in a year, that’s pretty good,” Kanaan said after revealing his image on the Borg-Warner Trophy at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

“That go-kart race is always a tradition for us, but for the last five years we didn’t win. This was the 17th time they’ve had the race and we’ve won nine, so that’s not so bad. It was a special moment. All of our kids were there, so we all went to the podium.”

Franchitti presents at Autosport Awards

Dario Franchitti at Autosport AwardsRetired IZOD IndyCar Series driver Dario Franchitti ambled up to the stage on crutches Dec. 1 to present John Surtees with a Gregor Grant Award for lifetime achievement during the annual Autosport Awards in London.

Surtees is the only person to have won world champions on two and four wheels. He won multiple titles in 500cc competition in the 1950s before moving to Formula One, where he won the 1964 World Championship with Ferrari.

Franchitti told Autosport that he would like to remain involved in a team role with Target Chip Ganassi Racing. Read the story.

Four-time F1 champion Sebastian Vettel won the International Racing Driver of the Year award -- the category that IZOD IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon also was a nominee. Lewis Hamilton won the British Racing Driver of the Year -- the category that Justin Wilson was a nominee.

Of note

Former IZOD IndyCar Series competitors Martin Plowman and Bertrand Baguette teamed with Ricardo Gonzalez to finish fourth in the 6 Hours of Bahrain, which clinched the LMP2 title in the World Endurance Championship. ... Tickets are on sale for the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. The 10th annual IndyCar Series event is March 28-30. Get details HERE. ... Mike Conway, who will drive the No. 20 Fuzzy's Ultra Premium Vodka car for Ed Carpenter Racing on street/road course events in 2014, has been named Toyota's test and reserve driver for the World Endurance Championship schedule. ... Ed Carpenter is the keynote speaker Dec. 3 at the Youth Power & Hope Awards dinner in Indianapolis.