Toronto Race 1 Podium

TORONTO -- In the middle of the Victory Circle podium following Race 1 of the Honda Indy Toronto on July 13 stood a beaming Scott Dixon, which created a unique moment.

Dixon’s second consecutive victory of the season not only vaulted him to third place in the championship standings, he joined Dario Franchitti, Sebastien Bourdais and Paul Tracy with 31 Indy car victories.

Bourdais finished 1.7077 seconds behind Dixon in the 85-lap race on the 1.7-mile, 11-turn street circuit and Franchitti finished third for the second consecutive race.

Tracy, retired from Indy car racing, was nearby in the Sportsnet broadcast booth.

The foursome is tied for seventh all-time. Next up is Al Unser Jr. at 34 wins.

“Obviously, for me, it means a lot,” said Dixon, who has 17 wins on ovals and 14 on road/street courses. “To think we're all tied for seventh, but to think the next group of people have last names of Unser, Andretti and Foyt, that's pretty special to be even on the same list of those guys.

“I've always had a lot of respect for them. I remember watching races when I was very young. It's exciting. I think the time to look back on those sorts of things is once you're done with your career.”

Dixon, who turns 33 on July 22, made his first Indy car start at Monterrey, Mexico, on March 11, 2001, and picked up his maiden victory at Nazareth less than two months later in a PacWest Racing car. He’s been with Target Chip Ganassi Racing since ’03.

“If we can get more victories, we're obviously doing something right,” Dixon added. “I credit a lot of that to the team. I think 30 of those victories have been with this team. That's nice.”

Bourdais, 34, a four-time CART champion, reeled off his impressive string of victories from May 5, 2003 (Brands Hatch) to Nov. 11, 2007 (Monterrey, Mexico). The runner-up finish at Toronto was his best since rejoining IndyCar racing in 2011 after racing in Europe.

Franchitti, 40, a four-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion, earned his first Indy car victory at Road America on Aug. 16, 1998, and his most recent victory was the 2012 Indianapolis 500. Scott Dixon was runner-up. His total includes 16 wins on ovals and 15 of road/street courses.

Tracy, 44, has eight oval victories and 23 on road/street courses from April 18, 1993 (Long Beach) to June 24, 2007 (Cleveland). Bobby Rahal was runner-up in Tracy’s inaugural victory.

“I've said it before; I think Scott, with his age, with how good he is, he can put up some really stout numbers going forward,” Franchitti said. “I'd like to win a couple here soon, stretch that a little again. I don't know a number, but I can see Scott getting into the 40s going forward.

“He's got a few years on the clock yet, so I really think he can put big numbers up in terms of championships, race wins, and he deserves every one of them.”

IZOD IndyCar Series championship points leader Helio Castroneves, with one victory this season, is closing in with 28.

All-time victory leaders



1st win


A.J. Foyt




Mario Andretti



Indianapolis Raceway Park

Michael Andretti



Long Beach

Al Unser



Pikes Peak

Bobby Unser



Pikes Peak

Al Unser Jr.




Paul Tracy



Long Beach

Dario Franchitti



Road America

Sebastien Bourdais



Brands Hatch

Scott Dixon




Rick Mears