Hinch on the Iowa Backstretch

ABC will broadcast the Iowa Corn Indy 250 presented by DEKLAB at 2:30 p.m. (ET) today. It's the 10th of 19 races on the schedule. Helio Castroneves is the championship points leader.

Chief announcer Marty Reid will be joined in the broadcast booth by former Indy car drivers Scott Goodyear and Eddie Cheever Jr.

Click it: Starting lineup

Radio broadcast: IMS Radio Network affiliates, Sirius and XM 211, American Forces Network, INDYCAR 13 app, indycar.com
... Chief announcer: Mike King

Timing & Scoring: INDYCAR 13 app, Race Control on indycar.com

Twitter: @IndyCar (#indycar), @IowaSpeedway (#IowaCorn250)

Track layout: .875-mile oval with variable banking

Length: 250 laps/218 miles

Start: Rolling ... Restarts: Double file (acceleration cones between Turns 3-4)

2012 winner: Ryan Hunter-Reay

Verizon P1 Award winner: Helio Castroneves in Heat 3

He said it: "Nine (bonus) points right now is really welcomed to be honest,” said Castroneves, the championship points leader. “I’m really excited what we achieved. We watched the first two heats so we could learn something."

What to watch: Can Castroneves win from the 11th starting position? He'll be moved back 10 positions on the grid because of an unapproved engine change penalty (changing out the Chevrolet engine before it reached its mileage threshold of 2,000 miles). ... Iowa Speedway is a short track that has superspeedway characteristics. But as with most short oval races, traffic remains a variable. Dario Franchitti, a two-time winner at Iowa, starts 21st in the 24-car field but he could be a charger through the field.

Did you know: Of the six IZOD IndyCar Series races at Iowa Speedway, Andretti Autosport drivers have won the race four times. Target Chip Ganassi Racing drivers have won the others. ... The Iowa winner has gone on to win the series championship three times.

Up next: Pocono INDYCAR 400 Fueled by Sunoco at noon (ET) July 7 at Pocono Raceway. ABC broadcast.