Honda Turbocharger Protest

Ryan Hunter-Reay, who moved to second in the IZOD IndyCar Series championship standings with victories the past two races, is in good stead for the six remaining races of the season with two fresh Chevrolet engines available to drop into the No. 28 Team DHL/Sun DropCitrus Soda car for Andretti Autosport.

INDYCAR provided an update regarding the status of engines remaining for each entry as the series enters a stretch of five street/road course races, starting with the Honda Indy Toronto on June 6-8. The season finale Sept. 15 is a 500-mile race on the 2-mile Auto Club Speedway oval.

Pursuant to Rule 15.1.4, each full-season entrant will be provided with no more than five fresh-built engines throughout each year covered by an engine service agreement. Using more than five fresh engines in a season will result in a penalty. Engines beyond the fifth fresh engine may be fresh or part-used.

That penalty for an unapproved engine change has been 10 spots on the grid per race. An in-race incident necessitating an engine change does not trigger the penalty. Upcoming testing -- 19 drivers are scheduled to test at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on July 26 -- is subject to the engine change penalty if the outing is a team test. If designated as a manufacturer test day, a test engine is allowed to be swapped in for the race engine for that on-track activity.    

Hunter-Reay is three points behind Team Penske's Will Power, who is running on his fourth engine. Scott Dixon of Target Chip Ganassi Racing, who is 15 points out of the championship lead, is on his fifth engine. The cancellation of the scheduled mid-August China event should help Dixon's cause in contending for his third series title.

All three Andretti Autosport cars, including the No. 27 entry of James Hinchcliffe (fourth in the title chase) and the No. 26 Team RC Cola car of Marco Andretti, are running their third engines. 

Car Team Driver Engine Count
2 Team Penske
Ryan Briscoe 1 Engine Remaining
3 Team Penske
Helio Castroneves 1 Engine Remaining
4 Panther Racing
JR Hildebrand 2 Engines Remaining
5 KV Racing Technology
EJ Viso 2 Engines Remaining
6/7 Dragon Racing
Katherine Legge &
Sebastian Bourdais
2 Engines Remaining
8 KV Racing Technology
Rubens Barrichello 1 Engine Remaining
9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing
Scott Dixon On Engine 5
10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing
Dario Franchitti 1 Engine Remaining
11 KV Racing Technology w/ SH
Tony Kanaan 1 Engine Remaining
12 Team Penske
Will Power 1 Engine Remaining
14 AJ Foyt Enterprises
Mike Conway On Engine 5
15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan
Takuma Sato On Engine 5
18 Dale Coyne Racing
Justin Wilson 1 Engine Remaining
19 Dale Coyne Racing
James Jakes 2 Engines Remaining
20 Ed Carpenter Racing
Ed Carpenter 1 Engine Remaining
22 Panther / Dreyer & Reinbold
Oriol Servia 2 Engines Remaining
26 Andretti Autosport
Marco Andretti 2 Engines Remaining
27 Andretti Autosport
James Hinchcliffe 2 Engines Remaining
28 Andretti Autosport
Ryan Hunter-Reay 2 Engines Remaining
38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing
Graham Rahal 1 Engine Remaining
67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
Josef Newgarden 1 Engine Remaining
77 Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports
Simon Pagenaud On Engine 5
78 Lotus-HVM Racing
Simona de Silvestro On Engine 5
83 Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing
Charlie Kimball 1 Engine Remaining
98 Bryan Herta Autosport w/ Curb-Agajanian
Alex Tagliani 2 Engines Remaining