Fan Info - INDYCAR 101 - Mazda Road To Indy - Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda

Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda

Cooper Tires USF2000 Powered by Mazda

The Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda debuted in 2010 and is a continuation of the highly regarded USF2000 series which ran from 1990 through 2006 and launched the careers of many of today’s top drivers. Sanctioned by INDYCAR, the series is the first official step on the Mazda Road to Indy presented by Cooper Tires - a clearly defined path to reach the top echelons of the sport.

The series champion will earn a scholarship package from Mazda of $325,000 to advance to the Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires, the next step on the ladder system, in 2019. Oliver Askew of Cape Motorsports earned his second Mazda Scholarship by claiming the 2017 champion’s crown and will advance to Pro Mazda with the team this year.

Last season saw the Mazda-powered Tatuus USF-17 debut to rave reviews. Representing a significant technology leap over the long-serving Van Diemen, the new chassis meets current FIA F4 safety standards including side impact panels, front and rear impact structures, HANS-compliant INDYCAR head restraint, front and rear wheel tethers, upgraded uprights and an upgraded front bulkhead structure for U.S. specific oval racing circuits.

In addition to enhanced safety features, upgrades include a six-speed paddle shift gearbox, two-way adjustable dampers, specific design aluminum Motegi Racing wheels, Cosworth data system, LCD steering wheel and ECU, four piston caliper PFC brakes and IndyCar-specific quick jack and roll hoop attachments.


USF2000 has served as a formative step for drivers dating back to 1990. Drivers who have honed their skills in the series include Indy 500 winners Dan Wheldon, Sam Hornish Jr. and Buddy Rice and sports car talents Lawson Aschenbach, Austin Cindric, Andy Lally, Bryan Sellers and Jonathan Bomarito. Recent graduates include rising stars Oliver Askew, Victor Franzoni, Colton Herta, Nico Jamin, Spencer Pigot, Aaron Telitz and Zach Veach to name a few.