Verizon IndyCar Series - 2012 Schedule

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Previous Race Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama
Next Race Sao Paulo Indy 300

Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach

Long Beach, CA
Race Review

Will Power, who started the 38th Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach in Row 6 because of a penalty assessed ton all 11 Chevrolet-powered cars for unapproved engine changes, overcame the deficit by stretching 18.5 gallons of E85 the last 31 laps on the 1.968-mile, 11-turn street circuit. All the while being chased down by Simon Pagenaud.

"We really didn’t think it was possible to win from 12th place because it was a two-stop race, but never say never," said Power, who two weeks earlier charged from qualifying ninth to win on the 2.38-mile Barber Motorsports Park road course. "Once again, good strategy with (strategist) Tim (Cindric), Dave (Faustino), my engineer, and all the boys we overcame a 10-spot penalty.

"It was just amazing that Simon did three stops and I did two stops, like two different strategies. Obviously he could run hard the whole time and not save fuel, and I saved fuel and did the best lap time I could. And the result was very similar.  There was hardly any time between us as we crossed the finish line. 

"It's just always a surprise in IndyCar, I think.  You can never predict. You can never assume going into a race. You just have to be smart as it plays out." 

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

Race Highlight Articles
Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
About the Track
Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach Track

Track Info

The 1.968-mile, 12-turn circuit encircles the Long Beach Convention Center -- which houses a Family Fun Zone and numerous displays during the race weekend -- and runs down scenic Shoreline Drive. It offers numerous overtaking opportunities, including a hairpin turn just before the frontstretch.

Past Track Winners

2011 Mike Conway
2010 Ryan Hunter-Reay
2009 Dario Franchitti
2008 Will Power
2007 Sebastien Bourdais
2006 Sebastien Bourdais
2005 Sebastien Bourdais
2004 Paul Tracy
2003 Paul Tracy
2002 Michael Andretti
2001 Helio Castroneves
2000 Paul Tracy
1999 Juan Pablo Montoya
1998 Alex Zanardi
1997 Alex Zanardi
1996 Jimmy Vasser
1995 Al Unser, Jr.
1994 Al Unser, Jr.
1993 Paul Tracy
1992 Danny Sullivan
1991 Al Unser, Jr.
1990 Al Unser, Jr.
1989 Al Unser, Jr.
1988 Al Unser, Jr.
1987 Mario Andretti
1986 Michael Andretti
1985 Mario Andretti
1984 Mario Andretti
Track Photos

NBC Sports Channel Finder

◄ Newer
Older ►